Motihari Assembly Elections 2015

Motihari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
PRAMOD KUMAR Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
BINOD KUMAR SHRIVASTAVA Rashtriya Janata Dal 61430
MANOJ KUMAR Independent 7619
RAVI BHUSHAN PRASAD Bahujan Samaj Party 6369
ARVIND KUMAR Communist Party of India (Marxist) 2242
TRIBENI TIWARI Communist Party of India 1905
TAFAJJUL HUSSAIN Independent 1570
BIKRAMA SINGH Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 976
NEETU SINGH KUSHWAHA Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 890
None of the Above None of the Above 2589

Motihari Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
19 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Motihari Assembly Elections Constituency

Motihari assembly segment is located in the eastern Champaran district. It comprises of Piprakothi community development block and Motihari community development block. Motihari has 2,63,092 eligible voters. There are 1,42,800 men and 1,20,286 women voters. Motihari assembly segment now belongs to the eastern Champaran parliamentary constituency.

Electoral History of Motihari Constituency in Bihar

  Pramod Kumar of the Janata Dal (uited) is the sitting MLA from Motihari assembly constituency located in Purvi Champaran district of Bihar.

  In the last general assembly elections to the state, he retained the seat by defeating Rajesh Gupta Alias Bablu Gupta of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a handsome margin 24530 votes.

   While 51888 votes were polled in favour of Pramod Kumar, Rajesh Gupta received 27358 votes and was followed by independent candidate Suresh Sahni who obtained 9764 votes.Arvind Kumar Gupta, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, was reduced to fourth place with 7723 votes.

  In 2010, the BJP did not field its candidate as it was in alliance with the JD (U). However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

  One of the twelve assembly segments located in the Purvi Champaran district of Bihar, Motihari was also won by Pramod Kumar in both the assembly elections held in 2005 by defeating Rama Devi of the RJD who had emerged victorious in 2000 by trouncing the former.

  Once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI), Motihari assembly constituency had elected Triveni Tiwary of the Communist Party of India (CPI) three times in a row (1985, 1990 and 1995). The Congress had won the seat last time in 1980 when its candidate Prabhawati Gupta emerged victorious for the third consecutive time by defeating Triveni Tiwary. Earlier she had won the seat in 1973 and 1977.

  Motihari is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purvi Champaran which is currently represented by Union BJP minister Radha Mohan Singh of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival by a margin of Binod Kumar Srivastava votes in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

  Other five assembly constituencies are Kalyanpur, Govindganj, Kesaria, Harsidhi and Pipra.

Motihari Assembly Election News 2015

RJD challenge for BJP

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Mani Bhushan Srivastav (RJD) is in the field with Pramod Kumar of BJP given him a tough challenge. Motihari has one of the strongest electoral rolls amongst all the assembly constituencies of the state with 2,63,092 eligible voters. BJP member Pramod Kumar is the sitting MLA of the Motihari constituency that is part of East Champaram district. In the 2010 assembly elections, Pramod Kumar won 51,588 votes and beat Rajesh Gupta alias Bablu Gupta of RJD who bagged 27,358 votes. Earlier a part of Motihari Lok Sabha constituency, the Motihari assembly segment now belongs to the East Champaran LS constituency.

Motihari Assembly Election Videos 2015