Morwa Assembly Elections 2015

Morwa Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
VIDYA SAGAR SINGH NISHAD Janata Dal (United) Winner
SURESH RAY Bharatiya Janata Party 40390
ABHAY KUMAR SINGH Independent 5946
RAMPRIT PASWAN Communist Party of India 3328
DINESH KUMAR SHARMA Bahujan Samaj Party 2534
PRANAV KUMAR MISHRA Independent 2365
SWETA KUMARI Independent 1728
MUNNA SAHNI Independent 1700
KHALID TANWEER Independent 1546
SUDHIR KUMAR Independent 1431
NILOTPAL MRINAL Naya Daur Party 1360
SUCHITRA SINHA Samras Samaj Party 1138
MD. ZIAUR RAHMAN Janta Dal Rashtravadi 1009
BABY KUMARI Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 634
RAVI KUMAR ROY Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 478
SATYENDRA KUMAR RAY Bahujan Mukti Party 417
None of the Above None of the Above 3261

Morwa Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
135 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Morwa Assembly Constituency

Morwa is a legislative assembly constituency is part of the Ujiarpur Lok Sabha constituency. There are 2,21,967 people in the Morwa legislative assembly segment amongst them 1,18,619 are men and 1,03,339 are women. Morwa assembly constituency will cover Fatehpur, Muradpur Bangra, Rajwa, Gauspur Sarsauna, Rahimabad, Kothiya, Ramapur Maheshpur, Manpura, Kaswe Aahar, Harishankarpur Baghauni, Dhgharua and Madhopur gram panchayats of Tajpur community development block; Bahadurpur Patori, Sirdilpur Supaul, Imansarai, Hasanpur Surat, Darba, Jorpura, Chaksalem and Shahpur Undi of Patori community development; and Morwa community development block.

Electoral History of Morwa Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Samastipur district of Bihar, Morwa was won by Baidhnath Sahani of the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Baidhnath Sahani had polled 40271 votes to defeat Ashok Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin 6850 votes. Ashok Singh received 33421 votes and was remotely followed by Nagmani of the Congress who secured just 6995 votes.

   Former union minister Nagmani was elected from the Kurtha assembly seat in 1977 as a nominee of the now defunct Soshit Samaj Dal founded by his father and former deputy Chief Minister Jagdeo Prasad. Known for switching loyalties at the drop of hat Nagmani had also won the Kurtha seat in 1995 as an independent.

  In 2010 the BJP did not field its candidate for the Morwa assembly seat because it was in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) at that time. However, since elevation of Narendra Modi was not liked by Nitish Kumar, the JD (U) snapped the ties with the BJP. As things stand today, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), previously an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. Due to abysmal performance of the JD (U) in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the JD (U) and RJD have joined forces with the Congress to stop the BJP from coming to power in Bihar.

  In 2010 the BJP had won 91 seats whereas the JD (U) managed to claim 115 seats, becoming the single largest party. While the RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats, the Congress was able to win only four.

  Morwa assembly constituency, which came into being before the last general assembly polls in 2010, is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Ujiarpur which is currently represented by Nityanand Rai of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest RJD rival Alok Kumar Mehta by a margin of 60,469 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Ujiarpur parliamentary seat are Bibhutipur, Patepur, Ujiarpur, Sarairanjan and Mohiuddinnagar.

Morwa Assembly Election News 2015

Rebel activities a worry

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

In Morwa constituency, BJP candidate Suresh Rai will have to face opposition from his own people as party rebel Abhay Kumar Singh has filed nomination. Morwa constituency has a maximum of 18 candidates in Samastipur district. And caste equations, rebel activities within parties and youth power are critical factors in deciding the fate of candidates.

Morwa Assembly Election Videos 2015