Mokama Assembly Elections 2015

Mokama Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
ANANT KUMAR SINGH Independent Winner
NEERAJ KUMAR Janata Dal (United) 35657
LALAN SINGH Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 16655
KANHAIYA KUMAR SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party 15472
RAJU PRASAD Communist Party of India 2793
ANJANI KUMAR SINHA Independent 1942
RAKESH KUMAR Bhartiya Lokmat Rashtrwadi Party 1582
SHYAM NANDAN PRASAD International Party 1582
BIJENDRA KUMAR Independent 1555
RAMKISHAN Bahujan Samaj Party 1077
NAGESHWAR MAHTO Independent 826
AJAY MAHTO Janhit Dal 772
None of the Above None of the Above 3194

Mokama Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
178 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Mokama Assembly Elections Constituency

Mokama is a legislative assembly constituency located in the Patna district of Bihar and a part of Munger Lok Sabha constituency. There are a total of 2,39,414 eligible voters in the Mokama assembly constituency, out of whom 1,30,428 are men and 1,08,981 are women. Mokama assembly segment comprises Baruane Bathoi, Raili, Darwe Bhadaur, Lemuabad, Ajgara Bakawan, East Pandarak,West Pandarak, Chak Jalal, Kondi, Khushhal Chak and Dhobhawan gram panchayats of Pandarak community development block; Mokama community development block; and Ghoswari community development block.

Electoral History of Mokama Constituency in Bihar

Since 1980, Mokama assembly constituency has been won by strongmen. This Bhumihar dominated assembly seat in Bihar is currently held by Anant Kumar Singh of the Janata Dal (United), the present ruling party in the state. He had retained the seat in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010. In that election, he had defeated Sonam Devi of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 8954 votes. While Anant Kumar Singh polled 51564 votes, the LJP nominee secured 42610 votes and was distantly followed by Mithilesh Yadav who received 4511 votes.

Mokama had earlier elected Anant Kumar Singh in both the elections in 2005. On both the occasions, Nalini Ranjan Sharma of the LJP was the nearest rival of Anant Kumar Singh who is known for flexing his muscle powers.

Dilip Kumar Singh, brother of Anant Kumar Singh, had emerged victorious from the Mokama assembly constituency in 1990 and 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In the next assembly elections held in 2000, he was defeated by independent candidate Suraj Singh who won the seat by a huge margin of 59471 votes. Dilip Kumar Singh was a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee in that election.

Don turned Suraj Singh, alias Suraj Bhan Singh was also elected MP from the Munger parliamentary constituency currently represented by his wife Veena Devi who won it on the ticket of the LJP in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Suraj Bhan Singh is now disqualified to contest polls due to his conviction in a murder case.

In the past another strongman Shyam Sunder Singh had claimed the Mokama assembly seat for the Congress in 1980 and 1985. He later joined the Lalu led RJD.

Mokama assembly constituency has also sent prominent Bihar Congress leader and former Union minister Krishna Shahi to the Bihar legislative assembly in 1972 and 1977. She served as a minister in the Narsimha Roa led Congress government.

Mokama is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Munger parliamentary constituency currently represented by Veena Devi of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest JD (U) rival Rajiv Ranjan Singh Alias Lalan Singh by a margin of 109084 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

Munger, Jamalpur, Suryagarha, Lakhisarai, Barh and Barahiya are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Munger Lok Sabha seat.

Mokama Assembly Election News 2015

Strong man faces criminal charges

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Sitting MLA Anant Singh aka Bahubali quit the ruling JD (U) following his arrest in a case related to abduction of a contractor at Bihta. Anant was widely seen to enjoy CM Nitish Kumar's strong support till he was arrested and jailed at RJD supremo Lalu Prasad's behest. The charges against him also included the murder of a Yadav youth near Barh, a subdivisional HQ town in the Patna district. JD(U) leader Neeraj Kumar is contesting from Mokama. Bahubali who resigned from JD(U) on September 1 is contesting as an independent candidate from Mokama. The leader has several criminal charges on him and Patna civil court has given green signal to his appeal to contest the election. Singh's supporters are already campaigning for him in Mokama. Grand Alliance's Neeraj Kumar, NDA's Kanhaiya Singh are also contesting from Mokama assembly constituency.

Mokama Assembly Election Videos 2015