Mohania Assembly Elections 2015

Mohania Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
NIRANJAN RAM Bharatiya Janata Party Winner
SANJAY KUMAR Indian National Congress 53330
RAM RAJ RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 9921
MUNNA RAM Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 2466
DADAN RAM Swaraj Party (Loktantrik) 1105
SHRINIWAS PASWAN Independent 997
BRAJESH KUMAR Independent 909
SATYNRAYAN RAM Bahujan Mukti Party 738
BANGALI PASWAN Samajwadi Party 711
DULESH RAM Independent 550
VINOD RAJAK Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 477
INDRAJIT RAM Independent 446
None of the Above None of the Above 2419

Mohania Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
204 (SC) Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Mohania Assembly Elections Constituency

Mohania is a legislative assembly constituencyin Kaimur district and a part of the Sasaram (SC) Lok Sabha constituency. There are a total of 2,33,920 eligible voters, out of which 1,25,520 are men and 1,08,377 women. The Mohania legislative assembly constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC).

Electoral History of Mohania Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly segments located in the in the Maoists infected Kaimur district of Bihar, Mohania assembly constituency is currently being represented by Niranjan Ram of the BJP who wrested the seat from the Janata Dal (United) by defeating its candidate and his nearest rival Chandra Shekhar Paswan by a margin of 19851 votes in a byepoll held on 21st August in 2014, necessitated due to the election of its sitting JDU MLA Chhedi Paswan to the Lok Sabha from the Sasaram parliamentary constituency.

Chhedi Paswan, the sitting JD (U)) MLA, had defected to the BJP and contested the parliamentary elections as a BJP nominee in 20104.

Out of the ten assembly seats that went to the polls in the bye-elections which took place after the Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won 4 whereas the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the JD (U) was victorious on 3 and 2 seats respectively. The Congress won the Bhagalpur seats.

Chhedi Paswan, a former minister in Nitish Kumar cabinet, had emerged victorious from the Mohania assembly seat in the last general assembly polls in Bihar on the ticket of the JDU by defeating Niranjan Ram, then an RJD nominee, by just 2525 votes.

While Chhedi Paswan received 38918 votes, Niranjan Ram got 36393 votes and was followed by Kanhaiya Ram of the Congress with 14613 votes. In the previous general assembly elections held in October/November 2005, Chhedi Paswan had trounced the sitting RJD MLA Suresh Pasi who had been elected from the seat in 1995, 2000 and February 2005 elections. While Suresh Pasi’s wins in 1995 and 2000 came as a Bahujan Samaj Party candidate, he became winner in February 2005 as a nominee of the RJD.

Chhedi Paswan was also a minister in Lalu Yadav's RJD government before switching over to JD (U) in 2005.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Mohania is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Sasaram which is currently represented by Chhedi Paswan of the BJP who won it by defeating the sitting Congress MP and former Speaker Meira Kumar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Sasaram are Bhabua, Chainpur, Chenari, Sasaram and Kargahar.

Mohania Assembly Election News 2015

Focus on development agenda

The NDA candidate Niranjan Ram (BJP) is a clear favourite against Sanjay Kumar Pasi from Congress in this constituency. Former Bihar deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi had begun his campaign from from Mohania. He talked on development issues and how PM Narendra Modi is changing the perception of India abroad. He extolled people to vote for BJP as it would usher in speedier development in Bihar which is lagging behind in all development issues.

Mohania Assembly Election Videos 2015