Matihani Assembly Elections 2015

Matihani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
SARVESH KUMAR Bharatiya Janata Party 66609
SHOBHA DEVI Communist Party of India 11232
PRAVIN KUMAR Independent 2311
RANBIR KUMAR SALESH Bahujan Mukti Party 1297
RAM PADARATH YADAV Bahujan Samaj Party 1276
SUSHIL KUMAR Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 1207
MD SHAMIM AKTHAR Independent 1180
MUKESH KUMAR Independent 878
None of the Above None of the Above 7067

Matihani Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
144 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Matihani Assembly Election Constituency

Matihani legislative assembly constituency is part of Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency.
It is composed of: Matihani and Shambo Akha Kurha community development blocks; Kaithma, Laduwara, Bhairwar, Chilmil, Dumri, Ulao, Sighaul, Pachmba, Mahmadpur Raghunathpur, Mohan Eghu, Shahpur, Bishanpur, Dhabauli, Bindpur, Puspura, Bahadarpur, Amraur Kiratpur, Rachiyahi gram panchayats of Begusarai CD Block; Barauni IOC Township (CT); and Keshawe, Noorpur, Mahna and Mosadpur gram panchayats of Barauni CD Block.

Electoral History of Matihani Constituency in Bihar

Once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI), Matihani had elected Narendra Singh alias Bogo Singh of the Janata Dal (United) in the last general assembly elections in Bihar who had retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Abhay Kumar Singh, alias Sarjan Singh of the Congress by an impressive margin of 23828 votes.

In that election while Narendra Singh had polled 60530 votes, 36702 votes were received by Abhay Kumar Sarjan who was followed by independent candidate Sarvesh Kumar who got 16667 votes.

Vidya Rani, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), an ally of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in 2010, was relegated to the fourth place with 13440 votes and was closely followed by Ravindra Prasad Singh of the CPI who secured 13110 votes.

Matihani was claimed by Narendra Singh in both the assembly elections held in 2005 as an independent. While in the 2005 February elections, he had defeated the sitting CPI MLA Rajendra Rajan by a margin of 27313 votes, in the November elections he had trounced Abhay Kumar Sarjan. It is pertinent to note that two general assembly polls were held in 2005 in Bihar because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Rajendra Rajan was elected to the Bihar legislative assembly from the Matihani assembly thrice in a row (1990, 1995 and 2000).

Matihani is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Begusarai which is currently represented by Bhola Singh of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Other six assembly constituencies that fall under the Begusarai Lok Sabha seat are Begusarai , Bakhri, Bachhwara, Cheria Bariarpur, Teghra and Sahebpur Kamal.

Matihani Assembly Election News 2015

Bizman turned politician

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Sarvesh Kumar Singh, who is contesting on a BJP ticket from Matihani in Begusarai district, is a businessman running a Rs 200 crore enterprise, teachers' training college and a public school. This 50-something son of the soil was more than happy to figure in the first list of the party which had several new names in it.
Sarvesh worked in central government after clearing the 1990 civil services exam for 10 years (1990-2010). He opted for voluntary retirement and had his first tryst with politics in the 2010 Assembly polls when he had unsuccessfully contested the same seat as an Independent.

Matihani Assembly Election Videos 2015