Masaurhi Assembly Elections 2015

Masaurhi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
REKHA DEVI (VILL- PABHEDA) Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
NUTAN PASWAN Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 50471
GOPAL RAVIDAS Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 18903
RAJ KUMAR RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 4247
REKHA DEVI (VILL-BARA) Independent 2990
NANDLAL PASWAN Independent 2821
HIRA CHAUDHARY Independent 2322
MUKESH KUMAR Independent 2305
BHAGIRATH MANJHI Independent 2062
PANCHAM LAL Samajwadi Party 1441
PRAKASH CHANDRA Public Mission Party 1082
MUNNA KUMAR Rashtriya Jagriti Party 762
INDRAJEET KUMAR Independent 676
SURYODAY PASWAN Sankhyanupati Bhagidari Party 618
MUNNA PASWAN Bharatiya Bahujan Congress 435
None of the Above None of the Above 2326

Masaurhi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
189 (SC) Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Phulwari Assembly Elections Constituency

Masaurhi is a legislative assembly segment located in the Patna district. it is home to a total of 3,06,115 eligible voters, Amongst them there are 1,61,629 men and 1,44,458 women. The Masaurhi assembly constituency would cover Dhanarua and Masaurhi community development blocks.

Electoral History of Phulwari Constituency in Bihar

One of the assembly constituencies located in the Patna district of Bihar, Masaurhi is currently held by Arun Manjhi of the Janata Dal (United) who retained the seat for the party by defeating his nearest Lok Janashakti party (LJP) rival Anil Kumar by a margin of 5032 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010.

In that election, while Arun Manjhi polled 56977 votes, Anil Kumar, son-in-law of LJP supremo Ram Vilas Paswan, received 51945 votes was followed by Gopal Ravidas of the CPI (ML) (L) who got 14532 votes. Dilip Paswan, who entered the fray as a Congress nominee, came fifth with only 2515 votes and forfeited his deposit.

Anil Kumar alias Sadhu Paswan had unsuccessfully the Rajgir assembly seat in February 2005.

Masaurhi, which was made a reserved seat for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes before 2010 general assembly polls in Bihar, had elected Punam Devi of the JD (U) in both the elections in 2005. On both occasions her nearest rival was Raj Kishore Prasad. She had also claimed the seat in 1985 on the ticket of the Congress.

Punam Devi did not contest the 2010 election to the seat as it ceased to be a general category seat. Instead she contested the Digha seat which she won.

In 2000, Masaurhi went in favour of Dharmendra Prasad who contested on the ticket of the RJD and emerged winner by defeating Punam Devi, then a Samata Party candidate.

Yougeshwar Gop of Indian peoples Front had won the Masaurhi seat in 1990 by trouncing Punam Devi, then the sitting Congress MLA. In the next assembly elections held in 1995, the seat was won by Ganesh Prasad Singh of the Janata Dal who had also emerged winner in 1980 on the ticket of the Janata Party (Secular).

Masaurhi is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Pataliputra which is currently held by Union minister Ram Kripal Yadav who had defeated Misa Bharti, daughter of Lalu Yadav, by 40,322 votes in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

The sitting JD (U) MP Ranjan Prasad Yadav, who had defeated Lalu in 2009, was relegated to the third place.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Pataliputra parliamentary constituency are Bikram, Danapur, Maner, Phulwari and Paliganj.

Masaurhi Assembly Election News 2015

Women power to the fore

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Nutan Paswan from HAM-Secular will fight it out with Rekha Devi from RJD in this constituency. Masaurhi lies in rural Patna and suffers from a plethora of civic problems like water shortage, poor roads and inadequate social infrastructure. Samajwadi Party has also fielded Pancham Lal, a former colleague of BJP MP and ex-home secretary R.K. Singh, in Masaurhi.

Phulwari Assembly Election Videos 2015