Marhaura Assembly Elections 2015

Marhaura Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
JEETENDRA KUMAR RAI Rashtriya Janata Dal Winner
LAL BABU RAY Bharatiya Janata Party 49996
ISRAR AHMAD KHAN Independent 7260
JAI RAM RAY Bahujan Samaj Party 4505
LALU RAY Independent 2584
NAZRE HASSAN Independent 1993
BALESHWAR PRASAD YADAV Bahujan Mukti Party 1278
AJAY KUMAR RAY Independent 772
VIJAY SAH Bhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party 490
MUJAHID HUSSAIN Rajnaitik Vikalp Party 481
None of the Above None of the Above 4047

Marhaura Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
117 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Marhaura Assembly Elections Constituency

  Marhaura assembly segment is loocated in the Saran district is a part of the Saran Lok Sabha constituency. Marhaura accommodates a total of 2,28,972 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,21,672 are men and 1,07,272 are women. It consists of Nagra and Marhaura community development blocks.

Electoral History of Marhaura Constituency in Bihar

  Located in the Saran district of Bihar, Marhaura is currently held by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) whose candidate Jitendra Kumar Rai won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MLA Lal Babu Ray by a margin of 5624 votes in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010.

   In that election, while Jitendra Kumar Rai obtained 26374 votes, Lal Babu Ray, who entered the fray as a Janata Dal (United) nominee, received 20750 votes and was followed by Ishrar Ahmad Khan of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) who managed to get 14342 votes. The Congress candidate Shafi Ahmad was reduced to the fourteenth place with just 1100 votes. A total of 28 candidates contested the Marhaura assembly seat in 2010.

  In 2010 the BJP did not field its candidate for the Marhaura assembly seat because it was in alliance with the JD (U) in 2010 assembly polls. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), then an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. Marhaura is one of the 22 assembly seats won by the RJD in 2010.

  In the previous assembly elections in October/November in 2005, Lal Babu Ray had emerged victorious from the Marhaura assembly seat as an Independent. He had unsuccessfully contested the 2009 Lok Sabha election to Saran as an Independent.

  Yadubanshi Rai of the RJD had also emerged victor from the Marhaura assembly seat in 2000. He had also claimed the seat in the previous assembly elections in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal which later disintegrated into several splinter parties such as RJD, JD (U), Janata Dal (secular), Indian National Lok Dal (INLD). Efforts are on for the merger of these parities to check the BJP which is determined to win the next assembly polls in Bihar.

  Marhaura is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Saran which is currently represented by BJP Union minister Rajiv Pratap Rudy who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by trouncing former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi by a margin of 40,948 votes.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Saran parliamentary seat are Chapra, Garkha, Amnour, Parsa and Sonepur.

Marhaura Assembly Election News 2015

Wooing Yadav voters

Updated on : Oct-5,2015

  Jitendra Rai of the RJD has locked horns with Lal Babu Rai of the BJP in Marhaura constituency in Saran district.

  Both the camps are fighting hard to win the votes of Yadavs, the dominant backward caste in Bihar which will decide the fate of many candidates in Saran district.

  Apart from caste factor, development issues will play a crucial role in which way the people vote on the polling day.

Marhaura Assembly Election Videos 2015