Manjhi Assembly Elections 2015

Manjhi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
VIJAY SHANKER DUBEY Indian National Congress Winner
KESHAV SINGH Lok Jan Shakti Party 20692
DR. SATYENDRA YADAV Communist Party of India (Marxist) 17803
RANA PRATAP SINGH Independent 14322
GAUTAM SINGH Samajwadi Party 13449
OM PRAKASH PRASAD Independent 12947
RAI BAHADUR SINGH Independent 5938
HEM NARAYAN SINGH Independent 5363
RAJESH TYAGI Bahujan Samaj Party 2787
RAM NARAYAN YADAV Independent 2695
SANTOSH PRASAD Shivsena 1591
KESHAWANAND GIRI Independent 1401
DHRUV DEV GUPTA Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1349
RAVIKANT CHAURASIYA Bhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party 681
None of the Above None of the Above 3431

Manjhi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
114 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Manjhi Assembly Elections Constituency

  Manjhi is a legislative assembly constituency is located in the Saran district and a part of the Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency. The Manjhi assembly segment accommodates a total of 2,66,352 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,42,547 are men and 1,23,795 are women.

  Manjhi assembly constituency comprises Lauwa Kala, Manikpura and Karhi gram panchayats of Baniapur community development block; Kouru-Dhouru, Sitalpur, Manjhi West Part, Manjhi East Part, Tajpur, Marhan, Bareja, Sonbarsa, Ghorhat, Bangara, Dumari, Lejuar, Jaitpur, Daudpur, Inayatpur, Baleshra and Nasira gram panchayats of Manjhi community development block; and Jalalpur community development block.

Electoral History of Manjhi Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Saran district in Bihar, Manjhi is currently held by Gautam Singh of the Janata Dal (United who won the seat for the third consecutive time in the last general assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating Hem Narayan Singh of the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) by a comfortable of 7904 votes in a bipolar contest.

   While Gautam Singh, former science and technology minister, received 28687 votes, the RJD nominee secured 20783 votes and was followed by independent candidate and former legislator Rabindra Nath Mishra who managed to poll 8423 votes. Former Congress MLA Budhan Prasad Yadav was placed fifth with just 6640 votes in his kitty.

  Gautam Singh, who is averse to the idea of the merger of the Janata parivar, had emerged winner from the Manjhi seat in October/ November elections in 2005 by trouncing Ravindra Nath Mishra, then a Congress candidate, by a close margin of 1380 votes. In the previous assembly election held in February that year, Gautam Singh had defeated the same opponent by 5157 votes. It is worth remembering that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Mahesh Paswan, on the other hand had defeated Sunita Devi in 2000.

  However, in 2000 when Gautam Singh was defeated by Ravindra Nath Mishra who was in the fray as an Independent. Ravindra Nath Mishra had joined the JD (U) in 2013. Budhan Prasad Yadav had won the seat for the Congress in 1995. He had also emerged winner from the seat in 1985 as an Independent. Manjhi is one of the six assembly segments that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj.

  Maharajganj is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating the sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that paved the way for the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Manoranjan Singh of the JD (U) was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat are Ekma, Baniapur, Goriakothi, Maharajganji and Taraiya.

Manjhi Assembly Election News 2015

Third Front gives hope

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Former minister and sitting MLA Gautam Singh resigned from JD(U) apprehending that his Manjhi seat may be allotted to RJD as part of seat-sharing agreement. He then joined RSLP with a hope to get its ticket from his Manjhi seat to contest election. But as the luck would have it, RSLP exchanged this seat with LJP and preferred Jehanabad to Manjhi. Gautam is left with no option but to contest on Samajwadi Party ticket as part of Third Front from Manjhi constituency.

Manjhi Assembly Election Videos 2015