Manihari Assembly Elections 2015

Manihari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results (No. of Votes)
MANOHAR PRASAD SINGH Indian National Congress Winner
ANIL KUMAR ORAON Lok Jan Shakti Party 48024
GITA KISKU Nationalist Congress Party 7009
SHAMBHU KUMAR SUMAN Independent 6123
CHAMPAY KISKU Independent 5723
ANIRUDH PRASAD SINGH Communist Party of India 5129
BRAJ LAL SOREN Independent 2976
LILA MADI Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1972
ABHILASHITA URAON Bahujan Samaj Party 1881
NIRMA DEVI Independent 1873
FULMANI HEMBRAM Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1779
SINKENDRA MANDAL Independent 1423
CHHOTE LAL CHOURAE Rashtra Sewa Dal 1401
SHIV KUMAR SAH Independent 1327
DILIP KUMAR MANDAL Independent 980
TALLU HEMBRAM Bahujan Mukti Party 957
None of the Above None of the Above 1233

Manihari Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
67 (ST) Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Manihari Assembly Elections Constituency

The assembly segment of Manihari is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency is reserved for the candidates from the Scheduled Tribes (ST). Manihari consists of Amdabad, Mansahi and Manihari community development blocks. The Manihari assembly constituency has 2,27,078 eligible voters amongst them 1,21,049 men and 1,06,022 women.

Electoral History of Manihari Constituency in Bihar

  Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes in Bihar, Manihai is currently held by Manohar Prasad Singh who retained the seat for the Janata Dal (United) in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest Nationalist Congress party (NCP) rival Gita Kisku by a margin of 4165 votes. In that election, while Manohar Prasad Singh, a retired cop, received 44938 votes, the NCP nominee polled 40773 votes and was followed by Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) candidiate Champai Kisku who secured 18466 votes.

   Sikandar Mandal of the Congress was reduced to the fourth place with 3668 votes.

   A total of seven women candidates including Gita Kisku (NCP), Gita Devi (CPI-ML), Juli Hembrom, Radha Oraon and Fulmani Hembrom contested the Manihai assembly seat in 2010.

   One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Katihar district, Manihai had been represented by Mubarak Hussain of the Congress who had won in 1985, 1995 and both the 2005 elections. In the byepoll held in 2006 necessitated due to his death Vishwanath Singh of the JD (U) emerged victorious by defeating Mahammad Hamid Mubarak of the Congress by a margin of 2758 votes. Vishwanath Singh had also claimed the seat in 1990 and 2000. Mahammad Hamid Mubarak, son of Mubarak Hussain, had unsuccessfully contested the Kathiar Lok Sabha seat in the parliamentary elections in 2014 on the ticket of the Trinamul Congress.

   The Muslim-dominated Manihai assembly constituency, which borders Bangladesh and West Bengal, Manihari is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar which is currently represented by Tariq Anwar of the NCP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Tariq Anwar broke from the Congress along with Sharad Pawar and former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma on the issue of Sonia Gandhi’s foreign origin.

   Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Katihar Lok Sabha seat are Barari, Balrampur, Katihar, Kadwa, Pranpur and Korha.

Manihari Assembly Election News 2015

Party change for sitting MLA

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Sitting MLA Manohar Prasad Singh is contesting here from Congress ticket. He will take on the NDA candidate. Manihari is one of the 62 constituencies identified by the Election Commission (EC) for the high possibility of unaccounted money being used by candidates and their supporters to woo voters. In the last election (2010), Manohar Prasad represented JD(U) and won from Manihari.

Manohar Prasad defeated NCP candidate Gita Kisku by a margin of 4,165 votes in the assembly election held in 2010. Manohar got 44,938 votes, while Gita Kisku settled for 40,773 votes. The assembly segment of Manihari is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency is reserved for the candidates from the Scheduled Tribes (ST).

Manihari Assembly Election Videos 2015