Maner Assembly Elections 2015

Maner Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
BHAI VIRENDRARashtriya Janata Dal89773
SHRIKANT NIRALABharatiya Janata Party66945
GOPAL SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)4332
AMARNATH PRASADSamajwadi Party2114
RAJPATI DEVIBahujan Samaj Party1809
LALAN KUMARJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1619
ANJU DEVIIndependent1606
PAWAN KUMARIndependent1580
SURENDRA PASWANJawan Kisan Morcha558
DURGESH NANDAN YADAVRashtriya Janvikas Party (Democratic)540
CHANDRADEV VISHWAKARMARepublican Party of India494
None of the AboveNone of the Above5122

Maner Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
187 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Maner Assembly Elections Constituency

Maner is a legislative assembly constituency in the Patna district of Bihar. It is a part of the Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,73,381 people of the Maner assembly segment can exercise their right to vote amongst themthere are 1,47,093 men and 1,26,281 women. The Maner assembly constituency covers Shri Chandpur, Anandpur, Makhdoompur, Kateshar, Neora, Sikandarpur, Bela, Parev, Painal, Daulatpur Simri, Sadisopur, Mushepur, Kanchanpur Kharagpur, Shri Rampur, Amhara, Bihta, Raghopur, Dayalpur, Bishunpura, Daulatpur and Purshottampur Painathi gram panchayats of Bihta community development block; and Maner community development block.

Electoral History of Maner Constituency in Bihar

The Yadav dominated Maner assembly constituency in the Patna district of Bihar is currently represented by Bhai Virendra of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had emerged victorious in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest Janata Dal (United) rival Srikant Nirala by a comfortable margin of 9601 votes. In that election, whereas Bhai Virendra, former JD (U) leader and winner of the seat in 2000 as a Samata Party candidate, polled 57818 votes, Srikant Nirala, the sitting RJD MLA, received 48217 votes and was followed by Ashok Gagan of the Congress with 5540 votes.

In 2005, Srikant Nirala had won both the elections as a nominee of the RJD. On both occasions, Sacchidanand Rai of the JD (U) was his nearest rival. In 2000, Bhai Virendra had trounced Srikant Nirala who had claimed the seat in the previous assembly elections in 1995 on the ticket of the Janata Dal by defeating Bhai Virendra who was then in the contest as an Independent.

It is pertinent to note that two general assembly polls were held in 2005 in Bihar because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Srikant Nirala had also emerged victorious from the Maner assembly seat in 1995 on the ticket of the Congress. He has now joined the BJP.

Once the part of the erstwhile Arrah parliamentary constituency, Maner assembly segment had given the RJD candidate Misa Bharti a lead of over 7000 votes over her nearest rival in 2014 parliamentary poll to Pataliputra Lok Sabha seat,.

Maner is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Pataliputra which is currently held by Union minister Ram Kripal Yadav who had defeated Misa Bharti, daughter of Lalu Yadav, by 40,322 votes in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Ranjan Prasad Yadav, who had defeated Lalu in 2009, was relegated to the third place.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Pataliputra parliamentary constituency are Danapur, Bikram, Phulwari, Masaurhi and Paliganj.

Maner Assembly Election News 2015

Development agenda dominates

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Maner's BJP candidate Srikant Nirala wants people to vote for development. Nirala said he does not want people to vote for him but he wants them to vote for him only on the basis of the development he has carried out in the constituency in the past. The total number of voters in Maner are 2,99,069 out of which 1,60,762 are men, 1,38,300 women and seven are third gender. The present MLA of this constituency is Bhai Birendra from RJD. The constituency had been ruled by only two candidates in last two and a half decades. Srikant Nirala has ruled the constituency thrice, while Bhai Birendra from RJD has ruled the constituency for two terms.

Maner Assembly Election Videos 2015