Mahua Assembly Elections 2015

Mahua Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
TEJ PRATAP YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Leading
RAVINDRA RAY Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 29884
BINOD KUMAR Independent 11351
JAGESHWAR RAY Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3468
RIZWANUL AZAM Janta Dal Rashtravadi 2456
VISHWANATH RAY VIPLAVI Communist Party of India 1490
ASHOKE KRANTTI Bahujan Samaj Party 1330
SATYANARAYAN SHARMA Bhartiya Dalit Party 1312
SURJIT KUMAR Independent 1224
MOHAMMAD ALAM Aap Aur Hum Party 1104
MANOJ KUMAR Janta Raj Vikas Party 954
RATNESH KUMAR SINGH KIsan Shakti Jantantrik Party 879
RATNESH KUMAR Bharatiya Momin Front 865
AMAR KANT SAH Rashtriya Pragati Party 714
DR. SUMAN SINHA Gareeb Aadmi Party 713
ARBIND KUMAR SINGH Independent 668
NILOFAR MALIKA National Janta Party (Indian) 591
ARUN KUMAR Independent 561
DEENANATH SAHNI Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 557
PANNA LAL SAHNI Independent 477
JAYNARAYAN SAH Bajjikanchal Vikas Party 394
PRAMOD KUMAR Bahujan Mukti Party 375
UMA SHANKAR NIRALA Independent 348
ARVIND KUMAR SINGH Independent 345
None of the Above None of the Above 1574

Mahua Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
126 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Mahua Assembly Elections Constituency

  Mahua is a legislative assembly constituency is in Vaishali district and Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency. There are 2,44,978 voters of whom there are 1,31,929 men and 1,13,041 women. Mahua assembly segment comprises Chehara Kala and Mahua community development blocks.

Electoral History of Mahua Constituency in Bihar

  One of the eight assembly segments located in the Vaishali district of Bihar, Mahua is currently held by Ravindra Rai who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest rival Jageshwar Ray of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a handsome margin of 21925 votes. In that election, while Ravindra Rai polled 46309 votes, the RJD nominee received 24384 votes and was distantly followed by independent candidate Satyendra Kumar with 5928 votes.

   Masudul Haque, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth place with just 3911 votes.The legislative assembly membership of Ravindra Rai, who was elected on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United) in 2010, has been terminated by the Bihar Assembly Speaker Udai Narain Choudhury.

  Mahua, which was a reserved seat for scheduled castes before 2010 assembly elections, had elected Shiv Chand Ram of the Lalu led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) in both the elections in 2005. In the October/ November 2005 elections he had defeated Dasai Chowdhary who had emerged winner from the seat in 2000 as an RJD nominee. Added to this, Dasai Chowdhary had earlier claimed the seat for the Janata Party (Secular) and Lok Dal in 1980 and 1985 respectively. Janata Party (Secular) was the earlier avatar of the Lok Dal.

  Desai Choudhary, a Former Union minister, who later joined the Congress, is now a member of the BJP. He had unsuccessfully contested the Hajipur Lok Sabha seat in 2009 as a Congress nominee.

  Mahua is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Hajipur which is currently represented by Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sanjeev Prasad Toni by a huge margin of 2,25,500 votes. The former Bihar Chief Minister and JD (U) sitting MP Ram Sundar Das was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Hajipur parliamentary seat are Hajipur, Lalganj, Raja Pakar, Raghopur and Mahnar.

Mahua Assembly Election News 2015

Lalu's elder son in poll fray

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

  RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav's elder son Tej Pratap is locked in a tussle with Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Hindustan Awam Morcha’s Ravindra Rai.

  Rai, the sitting MLA of Mahua and a close associate of Lalu Prasad till recently, is one of several leaders who have switched over to other camps, giving the RJD a tough fight in its bastion.

Mahua Assembly Election Videos 2015