Mahishi Assembly Elections 2015

Mahishi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DR. ABDUL GHAFOORRashtriya Janata Dal56436
CHANDAN KUMAR SAHRashtriya Lok Samta Party30301
GAUTAM KRISHNAJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)19958
PUNAM DEOIndependent11361
SURENDRA YADAVIndependent6281
BIMAL KANT JHAIndependent2409
RAJKISHOR SADAIndependent1835
NANHE KHANBahujan Samaj Party1777
SUBODH PANDAYIndependent1702
MAHARUDRA JHAIndependent1096
NAUSAD ALAMIndependent1074
LALAN YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1034
VIJAY KUMAR GUPTANational Janta Party (Indian)705
None of the AboveNone of the Above8702

Mahishi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
77 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Mahishi Assembly Elections Constituency

Mahishi assembly constituency is located in the Saharsa district. It consists of Arapatti, Baghwa, Pastpar, Birgaun, Telhar, Manwar, Mahisarho, Telwa East, Telwa West, Kundah and Bhalahi gram panchayats of Mahishi community development block; Sattar Katiya community development block; and Nauhatta community development block. A total of 2,48,377 eligible voters are in this assembly constituency of whom 1,27,910 male and 1,20,465 female.

Electoral History of Mahishi Constituency in Bihar

  One of the only 22 assembly constituencies claimed by the Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) in the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010, Mahishi had elected Abdul Gafoor of the Rashtirya Janata Dal in those elections. In 2010 assembly election to Mahishi, Abdul Gafoor had polled 39158 votes to defeat his nearest rival Raj Kumar Sah of the Janata Dal (united) by a margin of 1717 voters. Former Mahishi legislator Surendra Yadav, who entered the fray as an independent, came third with 20304 votes.

   Birendra Kumar Jha of the Congress was relegated to the fourth place with 4548 votes. Abdul Gafoor was also elected from the Mahishi assembly seat, one of the four assembly segments located in the Saharsa district, in 1995 and 2000. Other three assembly constituencies located in the Saharsa district are Simri Bakhtiarpur, Sonbarsha and Saharsa. In 2010 while Simri Bakhtiarpur, Sonbarsha were won by the JD (U), BJP has claimed Saharsa.

  In 2005 October/November elections, Gunjeshwar Sah had emerged winner by defeating Surendra Yadav, then an RJD nominee. In the previous assembly elections held in February in 2005, the latter had won as an independent.

  Anand Mohan Singh, the founder of now defunct Bihar Peoples Party (BPP), entered the portals of the Bihar assembly first time by winning the Mahishi assembly seat in 1990 on the ticket of the Janata Dal. In that election, Anand Mohan Singh, who is now in jail for his involvement in the murder of an IAS officer, had trounced former veteran Congress leader Lahtan Choudhary who was earlier elected to the legislative assembly from Mahishi assembly segment in 1969, 1972, 1980 and 1985.

  Former Bihar state Congress president Lahtan Choudhary had entered the state legislative assembly first time in 1962 from the Supaul assembly constituency in 1952.

  Madhepura is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Rajesh Ranjan, popularly known as Pappu Yadav of the RJD who won the seat by defeating the sitting JD (U) MP Sharad Yadav by a margin of 56,209 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Vijay Singh Kushwaha, who contested on the ticket of the BJP, came third. Bihariganj Vijay Singh Kushwaha is the husband of sitting Bihariganj JD (U) MLA Renu Kushwaha.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Madhepura Lok Sabha seat are Madhepura, Bihariganj, Alamnagar, Sonbarsha and Saharsa.

Mahishi Assembly Election News 2015

RJD MLA is sitting pretty

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Sitting MLA Dr Abdul Gafoor of RJD will take on Chandan Bagchi Sah of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP). It will be a tough battle for the RLSP candidate as Dr Gafoor has nurtured his constituency over the last five years. But still the place lacks good roads, social amenities like hospitals and schools and the constitutency is economically backward. All these will work to the advantage of RLSP candidate as his main agenda will be growth and development of people. Dr Gafoor won the seat after he bagged 39,158 votes in the 2010 assembly election. He defeated Raj Kumar Sah of JD(U), who managed to get 37,441 votes. Mahishi is a part of the Madhepura Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency of Bihar.

Mahishi Assembly Election Videos 2015