Maharajganj Assembly Elections 2015

Maharajganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
HEM NARAYAN SAHJanata Dal (United)68459
KUMAR DEO RANJAN SINGHBharatiya Janata Party48167
SATYENDRA KUMAR GANDHIJanta Dal Rashtravadi5743
MUNSHI SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist)3909
RABINDRA RAYIndependent3108
BISHAWANATH YADEOJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2054
RAJENDRA SINGHCommunist Party of India2049
OM PRAKASH SHARMAIndependent1974
ATISH SINGHBharti Samudaya Party1549
NAGMANI SINGHRashtrawadi Yuva Party1264
TANWEER AHMAD KHANBahujan Samaj Party1256
OM PRAKASH SINGHBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party1103
MD.KALAMGarib Janta Dal (Secular)625
NAYAN PRASADBharat Ka Kisan Majdoor Party589
None of the AboveNone of the Above1671

About Maharajganj Constituency

Maharajganj is a Lok Sabha constituency as well as a legislative assembly constituency in the in the Siwan district. A total of 2,59,454 are eligible voters of whom there are 1,35,712 men and 1,23,740 women in this constituency. Maharajganj assembly constituency comprises Bhagwanpur Hat and Maharajganj community development blocks.

Electoral History of Maharajganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the eight assembly constituencies located in the Siwan district of Bihar, Maharajganj is currently held by Kumar Deo Ranjan Singh of the BJP who won the seat in a byepoll held in 2014 by defeating his nearest rival Manik Chand Rai of the Lalu Prasad led Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD). The byepoll was necessitated due to the death of sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA Damodar Singh who had won the seat in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 by defeating Manik Chand Rai by a margin of 20000 votes.

In 2010 while Damodar Singh received 40232 votes, the RJD nominee polled 20232 votes.

Earlier Damodar Singh had won both the two elections to the Maharajganj assembly seat in 2005 on the ticket of the JD (U). Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

On both occasions, Damodar Singh's nearest rival was Umashankar Singh alias Sawan Bigrah of the RJD. Earlier Umashankar Singh had been elected from the seat five times in 1977, 1980, 1985, 1990 and 2000. He was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat in 2009 for the first time as an RJD nominee.

The Congress had won the seat last time in 1972 when its candidate Anusuya Devi had emerged victorious. Maharajganj is one of the six assembly constituencies that fall under the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh by a simple margin of 38415 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014 that resulted in the formation of the BJP led National democratic Alliance at the centre.

While Prabhunath Singh had earlier won this Lok Sabha seat in 1998, 1999 and 2004 as a JD (U) candidate, his win in a byepoll in 2013 came as a nominee of the RJD. Other assembly seats that fall under the Maharajganj parliamentary constituency are Goriakothi, Ekma, Manjhi, Baniapur and Taraiya.

Maharajganj Assembly Election News 2015

Caste matrix in full play

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Hemnarayan Singh of JD(U) will lock horns with Kumar Dev Ranjan Singh of BJP in Maharajganj. While caste matrix will have a major say in the outcome of the election, the rising popularity of PM Modi will add to the advantage of the BJP candidate Kumar Dev Ranjan. Also, BJP leadership has roped in MPs and political personalities from the neighbouring Uttar Pradesh to canvass votes for the party candidate in Maharajganj.
Though a part of Siwan district, there is separate Lok Sabha as well as assembly constituencies for Maharajganj. Maharajganj is represented in the assembly by Damodar Singh of JD(U), who won the seat in the 2010 election after getting 40,232 votes. He defeated RJD's Manik Chand Rai by a margin of 20,000 votes.

Maharajganj Assembly Election Videos 2015