Lauriya Assembly Elections 2015

Lauriya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
VINAY BIHARIBharatiya Janata Party57351
RAN KAUSHAL PRATAP SINGHRashtriya Janata Dal39778
SHAMBHU TIWARIIndependent20793
SUNIL KUMARBahujan Samaj Party8994
PRADEEP SINGHNationalist Congress Party3195
SANTOSH KUMAR RAIIndependent2280
NAVIN KUMARIndependent1908
RAM BABU KUMAR SANKRITYACommunist Party of India1729
UMESH YADAVRashtriya Jankranti Party1140
RAJU RAMSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party953
None of the AboveNone of the Above2459

Lauriya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
5 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Lauriya Assembly Elections Constituency

Lauriya assembly segment falls in the western Champaran district and is a part of the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha constituency. It comprises of Yogapatti community development block; and Siswania, Kataiya, Marahiya Pakari, Mathia, Lauriya, Belwa Lakhanpur, Gobaraura, Bahuarwa, Dhobani Dharampur, Dhamaura, Daniyal Prasauna, Sathi, Singhpur Satawaria, Basantpur and Baswariya Parautola gram panchayats of Lauriya community development block. There are total of 2,08,165 eligible voters, out of which 1,13,658 are males and 94,503 are female.

Electoral History of Lauriya Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Paschim Champaran district of Bihar, Lauriya is currently represented by Minister for art, culture and youth affairs Vinay Bihari who won the seat in 2010 by defeating the sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA Pradeep Singh by a comfortable margin of 10881 votes. While Vinay Bihari, who has directed a Bhojpuri film 'Pyar Mohabbat Zindabad featuring several Bihar MLAs cutting across party lines, polled 38381 votes, Pradeep Singh secured 27500 votes and was followed by Shambhu Tiwari of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) with 22140 votes.

Vishwamohan Sharma, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth position with 9582 votes. He was elected from the seat 2000 when he had defeated the sitting legislator Ran Vijaya Shahi by a margin of 15496 votes. Ran Vijaya Shahi, who was the winner of the seat as a candidate of the Janata Dal in 1990 and 1995, entered the fray in 2000 as a nominee of the RJD. On the other hand, Vishwamohan Sharma has won the seat also in 1977, 1980 and 1985.

Earlier Pradeep Singh was elected twice from Lauriya assembly seat in 2005. In the November assembly election in 2005 to the constituency, he emerged victorious from the seat by defeating his nearest rival Shambhu Tiwari, then a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate, by a margin of 2024 votes. In the previous assembly election to the seat held in February that year Pradeep Singh had defeated the same opponent by razor-thin margin of 54 votes.

It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Lauriya is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Valmiki Nagar which is currently represented by Satish Chandra Dubey of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Purnmasi Ram by a margin of 117793 votes in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Valmiki Nagar parliamentary constituency are Valmiki Nagar, Ramnagar, Narkatiaganj, Bagaha and Sikta.

Lauriya Assembly Election News 2015

Advantage to BJP candidate

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Vinay Bihari from BJP is locking horns with Ran Kushal Pratap Singh of RJD in Lauriya. Lauriya falls in the West Champaran district and is a part of the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha constituency of Bihar. In the assembly elections of November 2010, then Independent candidate Vinay Bihari won the seat with 38,381 votes as compared to 27,500 votes of Pradeep Singh of JD(U). This constituency is part of Buddhist tourism circuit and government has plans to develop the locality with facilities to attract global travellers along with pilgrims.

Lauriya Assembly Election Videos 2015