Lalganj Assembly Elections 2015

Lalganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAJ KUMAR SAHLok Jan Shakti Party80842
VIJAY KUMAR SHUKLAJanata Dal (United)60549
SANJEEV RANJANIndependent3596
INDU BHUSHAN SINGHCommunist Party of India2382
RAJEEV KUMAR CHOUDHARYRashtravadi Janata Party1660
ANIL KUMARBahujan Mukti Party1481
MANOJ KUMARIndependent1400
MAHENDRA RAMBahujan Samaj Party1358
UMESH DAS AKANTAKSathi Aur Aapka Faisala Party912
RAMASHANKAR SAHNISarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party795
BIKIYA DEVIGarib Janshakti Party782
KEDARNATH PRASADSamajwadi Party480
None of the AboveNone of the Above1515

Lalganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
124 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Parsa Assembly Elections Constituency

  Lalganj is a legislative assembly segment is in Vaishali district and a part of the Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency. It has around 2,85,394 eligible voters, out of whom 1,54,246 are male and 1,31,144 are female. Lalganj assembly segment comprises Bhagwanpur and Lalganj community development blocks.

Electoral History of Parsa Constituency in Bihar

  Annu Shukla, who unsuccessfully contested the Vaishali Lok Sabha seat in the last general parliamentary elections in 2004 as an independent, is the sitting Janata Dal (United) MLA from Lalganj which she won in the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010 by defeating her nearest rival Raj Kumar Sah by a margin of 24145 votes.

  In the assembly election to Lalganj in 2010, while Annu Shukla, the wife of strongman-turned-politician Munna Shukla, who had also once represented the seat, polled 58210 votes, Raj Kumar Sah, who was in the fray as an Independent, received 34065 votes and was followed by Binod Kumar Panjiyar of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who got 22771 votes.

  Former Lalganj legislator Bharat Prasad Singh who entered the contest on the ticket of the Congress was relegated to the fourth place with 9833 votes. In 2010 the BJP had won 91 seats whereas the JD (U) managed to claim 115 seats, becoming the single largest party. While the RJD put up a dismal performance with only 22 seats, the Congress was able to win only four. The LPJ, then an ally of the RJD, was annihilated with juts three of its nominees winning the elections. All the three LJP are now JD (U) members.

  Earlier Munna Shukla alias Vijay Kumar Shukla had won the Lalganj seat in 2000 and both the 2005 elections. While his win in 2000 came as an independent, he won the seat in 2005 February on the ticket of the LJP. In the October/November elections in 2005 he was elected as a JD (U) candidate. Munna Shukla, who was convicted for the murder of Brij Bihari Prasad, a Minister in the RJD government, had been acquitted of the charges by the Patna High court.

  The Congress had won the Lalganj assembly seat last time in 1985 when Bharat Prasad Singh claimed the seat for the party. Lalganj is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Hajipur which is currently represented by Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sanjeev Prasad Toni by a huge margin of 2,25,500 votes. The former Bihar Chief Minister and JD (U) sitting MP Ram Sundar Das was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Hajipur parliamentary seat are Hajipur, Lalganj, Mahua, Raja Pakar, Raghopur and Mahnar.

Lalganj Assembly Election News 2015

Tainted candidates get tickets

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

  JD(U) has decided to give the Lalganj seat to Vijay Kumar Shukla.

  Shukla could not contest the 2010 election because of his conviction in two murder cases.

  The JD(U) has allegedly given tickets to tainted candidates from different constituencies.

  A political activist of Lalganj (Vaishali district) Bhupendra Narayan Tripathi believes that a candidate's personal rapport with his electorate counts more than the party he belongs to particularly when there is no wave in favour of either of the two political alliances.

  That's why candidates facing serious criminal charges get through in elections, Tripathi says.

  Further, the tainted canidates with criminal charges get petty things done for the people of all castes and communities and solve their small problems which are otherwise big for them, he says.

Parsa Assembly Election Videos 2015