Lakhisarai Assembly Elections 2015

Lakhisarai Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
VIJAY KUMAR SINHA Bharatiya Janata Party 75901
RAMANAND MANDALJanata Dal (United)69345
SUJEET KUMARIndependent8112
MOTI SAWCommunist Party of India (Marxist)4536
RAMASHISH KUMARSamajwadi Party3034
RENU DEVIIndependent2689
MANOJ KUMARBahujan Samaj Party2052
RANJEET RAMAam Janta Party Rashtriya1906
ASHISH AMARBahujan Mukti Party1544
None of the AboveNone of the Above4386

Lakhisarai Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
168 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Lakhisarai Assembly Elections Constituency

Located in the district of the same name, Lakhisarai is presently represented by Vijay Kumar Sinha of the BJP who won it in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MLA Fulaina Singh by a massive margin of 59620 votes. In that election, Vijay Kumar Sinha polled 78457 votes against Fulaina Singh’s 18837 votes.

The Congress candidate Ram Shankar Sharma was relegated to the fourth place with just 12255 votes. Except for Vijay Kumar Sinha, all the other 14 contesting candidates forfeited their deposit.

Suryagarha is the other assembly constituency located in Lakhisarai district. The constituency is currently held by Prem Ranjan Patel of the BJP who won it in 2010 by trouncing Prahlad Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 2928 votes.

Electoral History of Lakhisarai Constituency in Bihar

In the October election to the Lakhisarai assembly seat, Lakhisarai went in favour of Fulaina Singh who defeated Vijay Kumar Sinha, then the sitting BJP MLA, by a razor-thin margin of 80 votes. In the previous assembly elections held in February in 2005, it was a reversal of the scenario where Vijay Kumar Sinha defeated Fulaina Singh by a not-so-good margin of 1448 votes.

In 2000, Lakhisarai was claimed by Krishna Chandra Pd. Singh of the BJP who had defeated Fulaina Singh by a margin of 12180 votes. In that election Krishna Chandra Pd. Singh received 46372 votes against Fulaina Singh’s 12180 votes.

Lakhisarai is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Munger parliamentary constituency currently represented by Veena Devi of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest JD (U) rival Rajiv Ranjan Singh Alias Lalan Singh by a margin of 109084 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

Jamalpur, Barh, Munger, Suryagarha, Mokama and Barahiya are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Munger Lok Sabha seat.

Lakhisarai Assembly Election News 2015

Bihar phase-1 Polling ends turnout nears 47.47%

Updated on : Oct-13,2015

It was peaceful polling in the first phase of Bihar assembly election in which voters in 49 assembly constituencies exercised their franchise on Oct 12. The voter turnout recorded until 4 pm in Lakhisarai 47.47%.

Ganga bridge work a poll issue

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Speaking at an election meeting in Lakhisarai, BJP president Amit Shah attacked chief minister Nitish Kumar and Lalu for spreading "delusion" on the reservation issue. It may be noted that Lalu-Nitish made comments in the wake of RSS chief Mohanrao Bhagwat's "review reservation" remark. Ramanand Mandal of the JD(U) is pitted against Vijay Kumar Sinha of BJP in this constituency.
Union minister of state for railways Manoj Kumar Sinha blamed CM Nitish Kumar for delay in completion of bridge over the Ganga river. The minister was addressing an election meeting at Barahiya, a hub of prosperous farmers of Lakhisarai district. Barahiya falls under Lakhisarai assembly constituency from where the BJP has fielded Vijay Kumar Sinha. Union minister said the grand alliance leaders were trying to mislead the voters by citing some promises made by the PM.
The PM is striving hard to fulfill all his promises, said Manoj Kumar Sinha.

Lakhisarai Assembly Election Videos 2015