Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Elections 2015

Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SHASHI BHUSAN HAZARI Janata Dal (United) Won
RAJENDRA PRASAD Communist Party of India 5706
VINAY KUMAR Independent 4678
KAMESHWAR RAM Bahujan Samaj Party 3570
SHYAM SUNDAR SARDAR Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 2850
RAJESH PASWAN Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 2105
TURANTI SADA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1779
LAL MOHAR SADA Bharat Nirman Party 1586
None of the Above None of the Above 7183

Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
78 (SC) Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Elections Constituency

Kusheshwar Asthan assembly segment is located in the Darbhanga district and part of Samastipur Lok Sabha constituency . This assembly segment is reserved for the candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes (SCs), Pokhram South, Pokhram North, Uchhti, Ladaho, Afzala, Ganaura Tarwara, Akbarpur Baink and Sonpur Paghari of Biraul community development block; Kusheshwar Asthan Purbi community development block; and Kusheshwar Asthan community development block would come under the jurisdiction of the Kusheshwar Asthan assembly constituency. The Kusheshwar Asthan segment is home to a total of 2,14,166 eligible voters of whom, there are 1,12,385 men and 1,02,276 women.

Electoral History of Kusheshwarasthan Constituency in Bihar

   One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district n Bihar, Kusheshwarasthan is currently represented by Shashi Bhushan Hajari who had won it for the BJP in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Ramchandra Paswan of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 5512 votes in a triangular contest.

   In the only assembly election to Kusheshwarasthan in 2010, while Shashi Bhushan Hajari polled 28576 votes, Ramchandra Paswan, brother of LJP supremo Ram Vilas Paswan, received 23064 votes and was followed by Ashok Kumar Ram of the Congress who secured 17142 votes. Ram Chandra Paswan is currently the LJP MP from the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

   In 2010 Pashupati Kumar Paras, another brother of Ram Vilas Paswan, was defeated from the Alauli assembly constituency which he had been winning the seat since 1985. Ram Vilas Paswan, an ally of Lalu Prasad in 2010, is now with the BJP and is an MP from Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency. His son Chirag Paswan was elected to the Lok Sabha in 2014 from the Jamui parliamentary constituency.

   In the assembly elections in 2010, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP.

   In 2010 the Janata Dal (United) did not nominate its candidate for the Kusheshwarasthan assembly seat because it was in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) at that time. However, due to the realignment of the forces, while the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), previously an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the JD(U) and the RJD have come together to check the BJP.

   Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Kusheshwarasthan which came into being before the last general assembly elections in 2010 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Samastipur which is currently represented by Ram Chandra Paswan of the LJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

   Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Samastipur parliamentary seat are Hayaghat Kalyanpur, Warisnagar, Samastipur and Rosera

Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Election News 2015

Remote area cries for change

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Shashi Bhushan Hajari of JD(U) will be taking on the NDA candidate here. One of the backward areas of Bihar, Kusheshwar Asthan is yet to get the benefits of modern society. Even electricity can't be accessed easily here. Poor roads and flood-prone habitations make living here a hard task. Kusheshwar Asthan is one of the most backward belts of rural Bihar that are yet to be touched by development achieved in other parts of the state.

Last election in 2010, sitting MLA Shashi Bhushan won the election as a BJP candidate. Shashi Bhushan defeated Ramchandra Paswan of LJP by a margin of 5,512 votes. Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes (SCs), Kusheshwar Asthan is a part of the Samastipur Lok Sabha constituency. But this assembly segment is located in Darbhanga district.

Kusheshwarasthan Assembly Election Videos 2015