Korha Assembly Elections 2015

Korha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MAHESH PASWAN Bharatiya Janata Party 72983
JAY PRAKASH RISHI Communist Party of India (Marxist) 3719
LALIT KUMAR Independent 3199
SUNITA DEVI Nationalist Congress Party 2097
RAVINDRA KUMAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1621
RASHO RISHI Independent 1428
VAKIL DAS Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1373
ANIL KR PASWAN Independent 945
RAM RAJ RAM Independent 873
LAXMIKANT RISHI KIsan Shakti Jantantrik Party 684
MANOJ KUMAR Janta Dal Rashtravadi 541
MANJU DEVI Ittehad-E-Millait Council 527
None of the Above None of the Above 3823

Korha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
69 (SC) Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Korha Assembly Elections Constituency

Korha assembly segment Korha is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC). Korha assembly segment comprises Falka and Korha community development blocks. Korha is in Katihar district. It is a part of the Purnia Lok Sabha constituency, Korha has 2,23,145 eligible voters of whom there are 1,15,878 male and 1,07,264 female voters.

Electoral History of Korha Constituency in Bihar

  One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Katihar in Bihar, Korha is currently held Mahesh Paswan of the BJP who had defeated his nearest rival and sitting Congress MLA Sunita Devi by a whopping majority of 52444 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. In that election to Korha, while Mahesh Paswan polled 71020 votes, Sunita Devi received 18576 votes and forfeited her deposit.

  Manju Devi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), came third with 15956 votes and was followed by Manoj Kumar of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), an ally of the RJD in 2010.

  Earlier Sunita Devi had won both the elections to the Korha seat in 2005 by trouncing Mahesh Paswan. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. Mahesh Paswan, on the other hand had defeated Sunita Devi in 2000.

  Korha went in favour of Sitaram Das who had emerged victorious in 1990 and 1995 as a candidate of the Janata Dal which later disintegrated into several splinter groups.

  Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Korha had elected former Bihar Chief Minister Bhola Paswan Shastri who claimed the seat in 1967, 1969 and 1972. While his wins in 1967 and 1972 came as a nominee of the Congress, he won the seat in 1969 on the ticket of Lok Tantrik Congress.

  Korha is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar which is currently represented by Tariq Anwar of the NCP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that elected the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Tariq Anwar broke from the Congress along with Sharad Pawar and former Lok Sabha Speaker P A Sangma on the issue of Sonia Gandhi’s foreign origin.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Katihar Lok Sabha seat are Barari, Balrampur, Katihar, Kadwa, Pranpur and Manihari.

Korha Assembly Election News 2015

Sitting MLA has clear edge

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

Congress has fielded Poonam Paswan in Korha who will take on the sitting MLA Mahesh Paswan from BJP. BJP is sitting pretty in this constituency and it will be a difficult task for the Congress to dislodge the sitting MLA Mahesh Paswan who has got considerable support from voters here. In the 2010 assembly election, BJP's Mahesh Paswan registered a thumping victory to win the Korha assembly seat with 71,020 votes. He defeated Sunita Devi of Congress with a gigantic margin of 52,444 votes.

Sunita Devi could manage only 18,575 votes. The assembly segment Korha is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SC) and is part of Punia Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency falls under Katihar district.

Korha Assembly Election Videos 2015