Kochadhaman Assembly Elections 2015

Kochadhaman Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MUJAHID ALAM Janata Dal (United) Won
AKHTARUL IMAN All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 37086
ABDUR RAHMAN Bharatiya Janata Party 34895
WASI ASGAR Janta Dal Rashtravadi 2089
GULREZ ROSHAN RAHMAN Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1348
SURENDRA KUMAR DAS Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 1267
RAJ KUMAR RISHI Independent 1072
BABUL ALAM Bahujan Samaj Party 970
EJAZ EQUBAL Gareeb Aadmi Party 960
MOHAMMAD MUSFIK ALA Loktantrik Janata Party (Secular) 955
MANOWAR ALAM Indian Union Muslim League 920
None of the Above None of the Above 3636

Kochadhaman Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
55 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kochadhaman Assembly Elections Constituency

Kochadhaman legislative assembly segment is a part of Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency. It consists of Pichhla, Belwa, Daula, Gachhpara, Mehangaon and Chakla gram panchayats of Kishanganj community development block and Kochadhaman CD block, The Kochadhaman assembly constituency has 2,05,971 eligible voters. There are 1,08,914 male and 97,055 female voters in the constituency.

Electoral History of Kochadhaman Constituency in Bihar

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the Kishanganj district in Bihar, Kochadhaman is currently held by Mujahid Alam who won the seat for the Janata Dal (United) by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sadique Samdani by a margin of 10,238 votes in a byepoll held to the seat on April 24. The by-election was necessitated due to the resignation of its sitting Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Akhtarul Iman who quit his party and joined the JD (U) to contest the Kishanganj Lok Sabha seat as a JD (U) nominee in the last general parliamentary elections in 2014. However in a dramatic turn of event, he withdrew his candidature for the Lok Sabha.

In 2010, Akhtarul Iman had won the Kochadhaman assembly seat, which came into being following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission before the last general assembly polls in Bihar in 2010. In that election Akhtarul Iman, who contested the poll as a nominee of the RJD, polled 37376 votes to defeat Mujahid Alam who secured 28351 votes. Sadique Samdani of the Congress was placed third with 9861 votes.

Under the seat sharing arrangement between the BJP and the Janata Dal (United), the Kishanganj seat was allotted to the former. Though in 2010 assembly polls in Bihar, the JD (U) � BJP combine secured won 206 seats of the total 243 assembly constituencies in the state, it became unsuccessful in grabbing a single seat in the Kishanganj district.

However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways. The Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Kochadhaman is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Kishanganj which is currently represented by Mohammad Asrarul Haque of the Congress who won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal of the BJP by a margin of 192612 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Kochadhaman Assembly Election News 2015

BJP changes tactics

Updated on : Oct-12,2015

BJP is fielding Abdur Rehman here to take on Muhammad Mujahid Alam of JD(U). However, the real fight is between the JD(U) and MIM candidate Akhtarul Iman who is the sitting MLA in Kochadhaman. MIM is also in the poll fray with the sitting MLA Akhtarul Iman testing political waters for the party for the first time in Bihar. In the last election (2010), Iman representing RJD beat Mujahid Alam of JD(U).

Younger generation of Muslims have taken to mobile telephony with gusto and making technology play a part in politics. Iman grabbed the seat with 37,376 votes in 2010 assembly election. He beat Mujahid Alam of JD(U) who managed 28,351 votes. Kochadhaman assembly segment is a part of Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency.

Kochadhaman Assembly Election Videos 2015