Khajauli Assembly Elections 2015

Khajauli Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SITARAM YADAV Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
ARUN SHANKAR PRASAD Bharatiya Janata Party 60831
AMIRUDDIN Communist Party of India 7568
PURSOTTAM JHA Independent 5523
BRAJESH RAUT Independent 2440
MURARI THAKUR Bahujan Samaj Party 2281
RAM KUMAR YADAV Samajwadi Party 1837
SONU KUMAR JHA Independent 1782
SUDHAKAR KUMAR Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha 1657
VISHWANATH YADAV Independent 1636
RAJ KUMAR YADAV Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1144
PRABHAKAR JHA Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 1135
ANAND MOHAN Bhartiya Mitra Party 613
DINESH THAKUR All India Forward Bloc 548
None of the Above None of the Above 2240

Khajauli Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
33 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Khajauli Assembly Elections Constituency

The assembly constituency of Khajauli consists of Basopatti and Jaynagar community development blocks, Khajauli, Nararh East, Betakakrghati, Mahua Ekdara, Rasidpur, Datwar and Sarabe gram panchayats of Khajauli community development blocks. Khajauli has a total of 2,60,167 eligible voters, out of which 1,37,366 are male and 1,22,787 are female.

Electoral History of Khajauli Constituency in Bihar

Located in the Madhubani district of Bihar, Khajauli assembly constituency is currently held by Arun Shankar Prasad of the BJP who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating Sitaram Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a good margin of 10713 votes. While Arun Shankar Prasad polled 44959 votes, the RJD nominee received 34246 votes and was followed by Amiruddin of Communist Party India (CPI) with 26311 votes. Deepak Kumar Singh, who entered the fray as a candidate of the Congress, came a distant fourth with 6841 votes. Hira Prasad Mishra, the richest contesting candidate and contesting on the JD(S) ticket, was relegated to the fifth position.

The BJP had claimed 91 seats in the last assembly polls in Bihar in 2010 and its ally at that time Janata Dal (United) emerged victorious from 115 assembly constituencies.

Khajauli, which became a general seat before 2010 assembly elections, was won by Ram Prit Paswan of BJP who won both the elections in 2005. In 2005 Bihar went to the assembly polls twice because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of October of the same year. In both the elections his nearest rival was former RJD MLA Ram Lakhan Ram Raman who had won the seat in 2000 and 1995 and 1980. While Ram Lakhan Ram Raman's win in 2000 came as an RJD nominee, he was elected as a CPI candidate in 1995 and 1980. Ram Lakhan Ram Raman was former Bihar secondary and higher education minister. He was the winner of the Rajnagar assembly seat in 2010.

In the earlier period of electoral politics of Khajauli, Ahmad Sakoor of the Congress was elected three times in a row (1951, 1957 and 1962.

Khajauli is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Jhanjharpur which is currently represented by Birendra Kumar Chaudhary of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP and RJD candidate Mangani Lal Mandal in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Khajauli Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-10,2015

Sitting MLA Arun Shankar Prasad of BJP is locking horns with Sita Ram Yadav of RJD in Khajauli. Caste matrix, youth and women will play critical roles in deciding the outcome of the election here. CPI too is contesting in Khajauli as Madhubani district has pockets of communist influence and supporters. BJP's Arun Shankar Prasad is the sitting MLA from Khajauli.
He defeated Sitaram Yadav of RJD by a margin of 10,713 votes in the assembly election of 2010. Arun Shankar Yadav won 44,959 votes while Sitaram Yadav bagged 34,246 votes. Khajauli is a part of Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha constituency though it comes under Madhubani district.

Khajauli Assembly Election Videos 2015