Kesariya Assembly Elections 2015

Kesariya Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
DR. RAJESH KUMAR Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
RAJENDRA PRASAD GUPTA Bharatiya Janata Party 46955
RAM SARAN PRASAD YADAV Communist Party of India 11767
NEETA SHARMA Independent 2617
UMESH KUMAR SINGH Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1938
ATIQUE AHMAD KHAN Samajwadi Party 1838
AWDHESH KUWAR Bahujan Samaj Party 1794
None of the Above None of the Above

Kesariya Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
15 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kesariya Assembly Elections Constituency

Kesaria assembly segment is a part of the eastern Champaran Lok Sabha constituency. It has 2,18,879 eligible voters, 1,18,753 of these are men and 1,00,126 women. Kesariais now comprises Uttari Bariyaria, Paschhimi Madhubani, Uttari Madhubani, Dakshani Madhubani, Purbi Madhubani, Bhatwalia, Barwa, Bariyaria Tolarajpur, Uttari Bhawanipur, Dakshini Bhawanipur and Dumariya gram panchayats of Sangrampur community development block; Dilawarpur, Rajpur, Darmaha, Raghunathpur, Medan Sirisiya and Pipra Khem of gram panchayats of Kalyanpur community development block; and Kesaria community development block.

Electoral History of Kesariya Constituency in Bihar

One of the twelve assembly segments located in the Purvi Champaran district of Bihar, Kesariya is currently held by Sachindra Singh of the BJP who emerged victorious from the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Ram Saran Pd. Yadav of the Communist party of India (CPI) by a good margin of 11683 votes. While 34649 votes were polled in favour of Sachindra Singh, Ram Saran Pd. Yadav received 22966 votes. Former Harsidhi MLA, Maheshwar Singh, who contested on the ticket of the Ramvilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), received 12010 votes.

In the previous Bihar general assembly elections held in the month of 2005, Kesariya was won by Babloo Deo of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had defeated Razia Khatoon of the Janata Dal (united). Earlier Babloo Deo had lost the seat to the sitting JD(U) MLA Obaidullah in the election held in February that year which was necessitated due to the hung assembly thrown by the February polls.

While Babloo Deo unsuccessfully contested the Madhuban assembly seat in 2010 as a Congress candidate. Razia Khatoon emerged victorious from the Kalyanpur seat in East Champaran on the ticket of the JD(U) in that year. Earlier, Obaidullah, husband of Razia Khatoon, had also won the seat in 2000 when he defeated the sitting CPi MLA Yamuna Yadav who had emerged victorious from the seat in 1990 and 1995. Once a stronghold of the CPi, the party had also claimed the seat in 1962, 1967, 1972 and 1977 when the party candidate Pitambar Singh emerged victoris on all the occasions.

Kesariya is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Kishanganj which is currently represented by Mohammad Asrarul Haque of the Congress who won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal of the BJP by a margin of 192612 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Other five assembly constituencies are Harsidhi, Govindganj, Kalyanpur, Pipra and Motihari.

Kesariya Assembly Election News 2015

RJD candidate has an edge

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Rajendra Gupta (BJP) will find it difficult to beat Dr Rajesh Kumar of RJD in Kesaria, which is part of East Champaran district. Sachindra Prasad Singh of BJP is the sitting MLA of Kesaria, who bagged 34,649 votes in the assembly election in November 2010. His closest competitor was Ram Saran Prasad Yadav of CPI in that election.

Kesariya Assembly Election Videos 2015