Keoti Assembly Elections 2015

Keoti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
FARAZ FATMI Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
ASHOK KUMAR YADAV Bharatiya Janata Party 60771
RAM CHANDRA SAH Communist Party of India 2176
MD. FAIYAZ KHAN The National Road Map Party of India 2001
CHAND BABU REHMAN Nationalist Congress Party 1649
VIJAY KUMAR Independent 1587
PRASOON PANKAJ Bahujan Samaj Party 1281
RAM VRIKSH PASWAN Independent 1028
MEERA KUMARI JHA Rashtriya Jankranti Party 890
ABDESH KAMTI Akhil Bhartiya Mithila Party 602
DINESH KUMAR DAS National Janta Party (Indian) 529
ASHOK KUMAR JHA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 463
KUSHESHWAR MAHTO Samajwadi Party 436
None of the Above None of the Above 3513

Keoti Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
86 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Keoti Assembly Elections Constituency

Keoti is in Darbhanga district and is a legislative assembly constituency is part of the Madhubani Lok Sabha constituency . Keoti is the assembly constituency has a total of 2,29,270 voters among them 1,34,771 are men and 1,14,494 are women. Keoti assembly segment would comprise of Simri, Arai Birdipur, Tektar, Banauli, Dighiar, Bharathi, Sadhwara, Bharhulli, Kaligaon, Hariharpur West, Hariharpur East, Madhopur Basatwara and Harpur gram panchayats of Singhwara community development block and Keoti CD block.

Electoral History of Keoti Constituency in Bihar

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district n Bihar, Keoti is currently being represented by Ashok Kumar Yadav of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating Faraz Fatmi by a razor-thin margin of 29 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010. In that election, while Ashok Kumar Yadav, son of veteran BJP leader and Madhubani MP Hukmdev Narayan Yadav, polled 45791 votes, Faraz Fatmi, son of former Union minister and four- term Darbhanga MP Mohd Ali Ashraf Fatmi (M. A. A. Fatmi), received 45762 votes and was distantly followed by the Congress candidate Md. Mohasin who secured 5679 votes.

   In the assembly elections to Bihar in 2010, while six assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the BJP, the remaining four seats were allotted to the its then ally Janata Dal (United).

   Earlier Ashok Kumar Yadav had won Keoti assembly seat in both the assembly elections in 2005. In 2000, he was defeated by Ghulam Sarwar who had also won in 1990 and 1995. While his Ghulam Sarwar’s wins in 1990 and 1995 came as a candidate of the Janata Dal, he won in 2000 on the ticket of RJD. Ghulam Sarwar was the former Bihar speaker and agriculture minister. Ghulam Sarwar had also represented the Siwan assembly constituency which he won in 1977 on the ticket of Janata Party.

  Keoti, which was earlier known as Keotiranway, had been represented by Hukmdev Narayan Yadav who had won in 1967, 1969 and 1972.

  Keoti is one of the six assembly constituencies that fall under the parliamentary constituency of Madhubani which is currently represented by Chaudhary Hukmadeo Narayan Yadav of the BJP who retained it by defeating his nearest rival Abdul Bari Siddiqui of the RJD by a simple margin of 20,535 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

  Other assembly constituencies that form parts of the Madhubani Lok Sabha constituency are Jale, Harlakhi, Benipatti, Bisfi and Madhubani.

Keoti Assembly Election News 2015

Brahmins invite Muslim candidate

Updated on : Oct-16,2015

RJD has fielded its candidate Mohammed Faraz Fatmi, who is son of RJD's veteran and former Union minister M.A.A. Fatmi. While BJP has re-nominated its sitting MLA Ashok Yadav from here. In 2010, RJD candidate Faraz Fatmi had lost by 28 votes to Ashok Yadav, son of BJP MP Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav. Muslims form the biggest chunk of voters, followed by Yadavs and Brahmins. Last time, the BJP gained by fielding a Yadav.

This time, it is the induction of former RJD MLC Misri Lal Yadav that may work in BJP's favour. Misri is the BJP candidate in the nearby Alinagar constituency. It has also had a contrary effect. The Brahmins, traditional supporters of the BJP had invited Faraz Fatmi for an interaction in Naya Gaon village. Keoti is in Darbhanga district.

Keoti Assembly Election Videos 2015