Katoria Assembly Elections 2015

Katoria Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SWEETY SIMA HEMBRAM Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
NIKKI HEMBRAM Bharatiya Janata Party 44423
ANJALA HANSDA Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 17481
MAIKAL HASADA Independent 2478
UMESH HEMBRAM Independent 2064
PUSHPALATA MURMU Nationalist Congress Party 1926
REKHA KUMARI SOREN Independent 1673
RAJARAM SOREN Bharat Vikas Morcha 1364
ANIL KUMAR MARANDI Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1324
None of the Above None of the Above 4928

Katoria Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
162 (ST) Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Katoria Assembly Elections Constituency

One of the five assembly constituencies located in the Banka district of Bihar, Katoria is currently held by Sonelal Hembram of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Suklal Besara by a margin of 8763 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In that election to Katoria, which was made a reserved seat for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes before 2010 assembly polls on the recommendation of the Delimitation Commission, while Sonelal Hembram, a former deputy excise commissioner, polled 32332 votes, the RJD nominee received 23569 votes. Rosemeri Kisku, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, got 4517 votes to finish a poor fifth.

Both the elections to Katoria assembly seat in 2005 had elected Raj Kishor Prasad alias Pappu Yadav. While he won the February election in that year as a nominee of the Lak Janashakti Party (LJP), he claimed the seat for the RJD in the October/November for RJD.

Electoral History of Katoria Constituency in Bihar

Earlier the Lalu Prasad led RJD had won the Katoria seat in 2000 when its candidate Giridhari Yadav emerged victorious from the seat. He had also won the seat in 1995 on the ticket of Janata Dal (JD). He however, resigned the seat in 1996 after becoming a JD Lok Sabha MP. In the byepoll necessitated due to his resignation, Bhola Prasad Yadav of Janata Dal emerged victorious from Katoria. Giridhari Yadav was also elected to the Lok Sabha in 2004 from the Banka parliamentary constituency as an RJD candidate. In the next parliamentary elections held in 2009 he lost the Banka seat. Currently Giridhari Yadav is the JD(U) MLA from Belhar assembly seat in Banka.

The Congress has won the Katoria seat last time in 1990 when its nominee Suresh Prasad Yadav was elected for the third time in a row.

Katoria is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Banka which is currently represented by of Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD who won it by defeating the sitting MP Putul Kumari in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 10144 votes.

Putul Kumari, who joined the BJP before 2014 general parliamentary elections, had won the Banka seat as an Independent in a bye poll in 2010 necessitated due to the death of her husband and former Union minister Digvijay Singh who had also won the seat in 2009 as an independent.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Banka are Amarpur, Dhoraiya, Banka, Belhar and Sultanganj.

Katoria Assembly Election News 2015

Reclaiming family honour

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Many candidates have entered the poll fray to reclaim the pocket boroughs dominated by their family members in the past. BJP has chosen to give the Katoria (reserved) seat to Niki Hembrom in place of her father-inlaw Sonelal Hembrom who had won the 2010 polls. A part of Banka district, this constituency is heavily infested by Maoists and people may stay indoors during polls to avoid the wrath of extremists for exercising their franchise.

Katoria Assembly Election Videos 2015