Katihar Assembly Elections 2015

Katihar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
TARKISHORE PRASAD Bharatiya Janata Party Won
BIJAY SINGH Janata Dal (United) 51154
DR. RAM PRAKASH MAHTO Nationalist Congress Party 18856
JAYNANDAN PASWAN Independent 1801
SAMRENDRA KUNAL Independent 1777
ASHOK KUMAR BHAGAT Independent 1274
ASGHAR ALI Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1247
RAM LAKHAN SAH Independent 1069
JANARDAN SINGH Independent 998
BINOD SINGH Independent 951
ARVIND KHWAB Bahujan Samaj Party 842
ZAHOOR ALAM Independent 799
PANKAJ JHA Independent 757
KANHAI MANDAL Independent 748
ASHISH KUMAR'' BALIDANI'' Janta Dal Rashtravadi 597
SHAILESH KUMAR SINGH Indian Union Muslim League 404
SAMIR KUMAR JHA Independent 402
MANOJ KUMAR SAH Bahujan Mukti Party 326
MD RUSTAM Aap Aur Hum Party 315
SHIVESH KUMAR Rashtra Sewa Dal 277
None of the Above None of the Above 1139

Katihar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
63 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Katihar Assembly Elections Constituency

The Kadwa assembly segment is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency. The Dandkhora and Kadwa community development blocks are covered by the Kadwa assembly segment. A total of 2,23,753 voters are there in Kadwa of whom 1,18,637 are men and 1,05,113 women.

Electoral History of Katihar Constituency in Bihar

Katihar, one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in the state of Bihar, is currently held by Tar Kishore Prasad of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating Dr. Ram Prakash Mahto of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by an impressive margin of 20607 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010. In that election, whereas Tar Kishore Prasad polled 58718 votes, the RJD candidate secured 38111 votes and was followed by Bhai Shamsuddin of the nationalist Congress Party (NCP) who managed to get 17015 votes.

In 2010, the Janata Dal (United) did not field its candidate from the seat because under the terms of its alliance with the BJP the seat was allotted to the BJP. However, equations have now changed. the JD (U) has snapped its ties with the BJP and joined the front that include RJD and the Congress to stop the Narendra Modi's winning spree in Bihar which will go to the polls this year.

In the previous general assembly elections to Bihar held in the month of November in 2005, Katihar assembly seat was won by Tar Kishore Prasad who had defeated Ram Prakash Mahto, then RJD sitting MLA, by a narrow margin of 116 votes. Ram Prakash Mahto had won the seat in 1990, 2000 and 2005 February poll to the seat. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

While in 1990, Ram Prakash Mahto had trounced Jagdish Prasad Mandal of BJP, in the next assembly elections in 1995 he was defeated by Jagbandhu Adhikari of BJP. Jagbandhu Adhikari was elected from the Katihar assembly constituency in 1977 when he won the seat on the ticket of the Janata Party.

Earlier Katihar assembly seat had elected the Congress legislators Satya Narayan Prasad and Sitaram Chamaria in 1985 and 1980 respectively. In both the elections Jagbandhu Adhikari of BJP was their nearest rival.

Katihar Assembly Election News 2015

Sitting MLA enjoys slight edge

Updated on : Oct-19,2015

Vijay Singh of JD(U) will be giving a tough fight to the sitting BJP MLA Tara Kishor Prasad. The presence of Asaduddin Owaisi's MIM in Seemanchal constituencies including Katihar may cut into the vote bank of JD(U). Sitting BJP MLA enjoys a slight edge over his JD(U) rival in Katihar due to two main factors -- splitting of Muslim and backward castes votes; and the issue of development of Bihar. In Katihar, Muslims constitute 45% of the population.

BJP's Tar Kishore Prasad represents Katihar in the assembly. Prasad captured the seat by winning 58,718 votes in the 2010 assembly elections. He defeated Dr Ram Prakash Mahto of RJD, who bagged 38,111 votes. The Katihar assembly segment is in Katihar district.

Katihar Assembly Election Videos 2015