Kasba Assembly Elections 2015

Kasba Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
MD. AFAQUE ALAM Indian National Congress Won
PRADIP KUMAR DAS Bharatiya Janata Party 79839
SANJAY KUMAR MIRDHA Independent 4777
SADA NAND YADAV Independent 2777
SYED GHULAM HUSSAIN Nationalist Congress Party 2669
AJEET KUMAR MEHTA Bahujan Samaj Party 2318
SHAKTI NATH YADAV Independent 1425
BAMBAM SAH Shivsena 1122
AFJAL KHAN ALIAS MUKHTAR Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 546
AKHILESH JHA Independent 421
AKHTAR ALI Maanavvaadi Janta Party 388
MD. SHAHID Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 339
MD. KASIM Indian Union Muslim League 316
None of the Above None of the Above 2058

Kasba Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
58 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kasba Assembly Elections Constituency

Kasba is a legislative assembly constituency in Purnia district. It comprises of Jalalgarh, Srinagar and Kasba CD blocks, Bela Rikabganj, Jhunni Istambrar and Kohbara gram panchayats of Krityanand Nagar Community development block. The Kasba assembly segment is a part of the Purnia Lok Sabha constituency. It has a total of 2,36,588 eligible voters, amongst them are 1,23,163 are men while 1,13,416 are female.

Electoral History of Kasba Constituency in Bihar

Mohammad Afaq Alam of the Congress is the sitting MLA from Kasba assembly seat which he won in the last general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting BJP MLA Pradip Kumar Das by a margin of 4455 votes.

In that election to Kasba, one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Purnea district in Bihar, while 63025 votes were polled in favour of Mohammad Afaq Alam, Pradip Kumar Das received 58570 votes and was remotely followed by independent candidate Akhlesh Jha who managed to secure just 4011 votes. Shahnawaj Alam, who contested on the ticket of Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), was relegated to the fourth position.

Kasba is one of the only four assembly constituencies which had elected the Congress candidates in 2010. Bahadurganj, Kishanganj and Kahalgaon are the other three. While Bahadurganj and Kishanganj were won by Mohammad Tausif Alam and Md Jawed respectively, the Kahalgaon seat went in favour of former assembly speaker and ex-BPCC chief Sadanand Singh.

The Muslim dominated Kasba assembly constituency has also elected Pradip Kumar Das of the BJP in November election in 2005 when he defeated Afaq Alam, then a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee, by a margin of 6009 votes. However, in the previous assembly poll to the seat in February that year Pradip Kumar Das was defeated by Afaq Alam, who entered the fray as a Samajwadi Party candidate. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Earlier, Pradip Kumar Das had been elected from the Kasba seat in 1995 and 2000 on the ticket of the BJP.

One of the seven assembly segments in Purnea district, Kasba is one of the six five assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purnia which is currently represented by Santosh Kumar Kushwaha of the JD (U) who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting BJP MP Uday Singh by a margin of 115669 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Kasba Assembly Election News 2015

Candidate selection is the key

Updated on : Oct-16,2015

It will be a direct fight between BJP's Pradip Das and sitting MLA Mohammed Afaque Alam of Congress with the former having an edge because his work has been impressive. He gets additional benefit of being a Bengali Baniya, the community which constitutes 25% of the total voters here. Trend shows that votes in Kasba are polled in favour of the candidate, not for his or her party. It increases the winning probability of Das because he is popular among his voters. In the 2010 assembly polls, Alam defeated Das contesting on a BJP ticket.

The assembly seat is presently occupied by Mohammed Afaque Alam of Congress. He won the seat in 2010 election by accounting for 63,025 votes. He beat Pradip Kumar Das of BJP by a margin of 4,455 votes. Das won 58,570 votes. Pradip Das had defeated Alam, who was representing RJD, in October 2005. Kasba is part of Purnea district.

Kasba Assembly Election Videos 2015