Karakat Assembly Elections 2015

Karakat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SANJAY KUMAR SINGH Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
RAJESHWAR RAJ Bharatiya Janata Party 47601
ARUN SINGH Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 23534
AKHLAQUE AHMAD Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 3815
KASHI NATH SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 3195
VINAY KUMAR SINGH Sampoorna Kranti Dal 2381
RAHUL KUMAR SINGH Independent 1906
BHARAT SINGH Independent 1300
BHAGWAN SINGH Independent 1230
BANSHIDHAR SINGH Independent 583
SURENDRA PANDEY National Janta Party (Indian) 487
None of the Above None of the Above 3493

Karakat Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
213 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Karakat Assembly Election Constituency

karakat legislative assembly segment ls located in the Rohtas district. A total of 2,77,876 people are eligable voters amongst them there are 1,49,471 males and 1,28,391 females. This assembly segment consist of Sanjhauli, Bikramganj and Karakat community development blocks.

Electoral History of Karakat Constituency in Bihar

Rajeshwar Raj, who won the Karakat assembly seat in the last general assembly elections to Bihar on the ticket of the Janata Dal (UNIted), is the sitting MLA from the constituency.

In that election, Rajeshwar Raj, who threw his weight behind former Jitan Ram Majhi in the recent political drama of Bihar in which Nitish Kumar once again became the Chief Minister, polled 49751 votes to defeat his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Munna Rai by a comfortable margin of 11415 votes. Munna Rai, who received 38336 votes, was followed by Arun Singh, then incumbent CPIML legislator, who obtained 23179 votes. Pramila Singh who contested on the Congress, slipped to fifth place with just 2206 votes.

In November 2005 elections, Karakat had elected Arun Singh who won the seat as a nominee of the CPIML by trouncing Rajeshwar Raj by a margin of 13546 votes. In the previous assembly elections held in February 2005 and 2000, Arun Singh had defeated Tulsi Singh of the RJD who had earlier elected from the constituency in 1967, 1969, 1980, 1990 and 1995. While Tulsi Singh claimed the seat in 1990 and 1995 as a candidate of the Janata Dal, his win in 1980 came as a member of the Janata Party.

The Congress had won the Karakat seat last time in 1985 when its nominee Shashi Rani Mishra had emerged victorious by trouncing Tulsi Singh, then a Lok Dal nominee. Shashi Rani Mishra later quit the Congress and joined the JD (U).

One of the seven assembly segments located in the Rohatas district of Bihar, Karakat is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Dehri, Nokha, Goh, Obra and Nabinagar.

Karakat Assembly Election News 2015

BJP partner upset

Former Bihar minister Akhlaq Ahmed is Jan Adhikar Party's candidate from Karakat. He had quit the BJP after he was denied ticket to fight the polls. Madhepura Lok Sabha MP Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav has floated Jan Adhikar Party and has joined hands with Mulayam Singh's Third Front in the elections. Rajeshwar Raj is the BJP candidate for Karakat and he is expected to do well in the polls. But RLSP is upset about the announcement of BJP candidate for the Karakat constituency. RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha, who aspired to be the joint CM candidate for the NDA, is an MP from Karakat.

Karakat Assembly Election Videos 2015