Kanti Assembly Elections 2015

Kanti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
AJIT KUMAR Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) 48836
MD. PARWEZ ALAM Rashtriya Janata Dal 47050
UMESH PASWAN Independent 3109
MD. INAMUL HAQUE Bahujan Samaj Party 2031
AMAR DEO SINGH Independent 1948
ARJUN PRASAD GUPTA Independent 1832
AJIT KUMAR Independent 1797
MD NAUSHAD Akhil Bharatiya Hind Kranti Party 1372
ABHAY SHANKAR THAKUR Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 1238
ANIL KUMAR RAY Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1207
MAHMAD JAFARUDDIN Independent 1112
MD. HASEEB Rashtriya Samanta Dal 849
CHANDAN KUMAR SUMAN National Janta Party (Indian) 842
SANJEEV KUMAR JHA Independent 734
LADDU SAHANI Bahujan Mukti Party 514
RAVINDRA SHEKHAR Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 514
KUMAR NATH SINGH Bajjikanchal Vikas Party 466
LADDAN KHAN Rashtravadi Janata Party 452
None of the Above None of the Above 1460

Kanti Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
95 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kanti Assembly Elections Constituency

Kanti is a part of Vaishali Lok Sabha Constituency and is in Muzaffarpur district. Kanti has 2,50,887 eligible voters. Out of these 1,35,532 are men and 1,15,349 women. The Kanti assembly segment covers the Marwan and Kanti community development blocks.

Electoral History of Kanti Constituency in Bihar

Ajit Kumar, whose membership has been terminated by the Bihar assembly Speaker, had retained the Kanti assembly seat in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, while Ajit Kumar, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Janata Dal (United), had polled 39648 votes, his nearest rival, Md. Israil of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), received 31233 votes. Ashok Kumar Choudhary, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, came third with 29768 votes.

Earlier Ajit Kumar had won both the elections to the Kanti assembly constituency in 2005. While he had won the November election as a JD(U) candidate, he entered the fray as a Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) nominee in February. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Kanti assembly constituency had sent Nailini Ranjan Singh to the Bihar legislative assembly three times in a row from 1980. While he had won in 1980 and 1985 on the ticket of the Socialist Unity Centre OF India (SUCI), he claimed the seat in 1990 as a nominee of the Janata Dal.

During the heydays of the congress, Kanti assembly constituency had elected its candidate Jamuna Prasad Tripathy three times (1951, 1957 and 1962).

Kanti is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the Lok Sabha constituency of Vaishali which is currently represented by Rama Kishore Singh of the LJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting RJD MP Raghuvansh Prasad Singh by a margin of 99267 votes in the 2014 parliamentary elections which resulted in the installation of Narendra Modi government at the centre. The LJP, which entered into an alliance with the BJP, won six parliamentary seats in Bihar in 2014 riding on the Modi wave that was sweeping the country at that time. Earlier Raghuvansh Prasad had won the Vaishali Lok Sabha seat five times in a row (1996, 1998, 1999, 2004 and 2009).

Kanti Assembly Election News 2015

BJP dissidents protest

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Stting MLA Ajit Kumar from JD(U) is now contesting here on HAM-Secular ticket. He quit the party and joined HAM after he was denied ticket by the JD(U). Former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi floated HAM-Secular will give a tough fight to Mohammed Parvez Alam of RJD in Kanti. BJP's rank and file is upset over the seat being given to HAM candidate. There is anger at the party having ignored its traditional upper caste base to give tickets to candidates from other backward castes (OBC) and extremely backward castes (EBC) in Muzaffarpur district.
Ajit Kumar of JD(U) is the sitting MLA of Kanti. He got 39,648 votes in the 2010 assembly elections. RJD's Mohammed Israil was the runner-up with 31,233 votes. Kanti is a part of Vaishali LS constituency, but belongs to Muzaffarpur district.

Kanti Assembly Election Videos 2015