Kadwa Assembly Elections 2015

Kadwa Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
SHAKEEL AHMAD KHAN Indian National Congress Won
CHANDER BHUSHAN THAKUR Bharatiya Janata Party 50342
HIMRAJ SINGH Nationalist Congress Party 23665
ASHOK KUMAR MEHTA Independent 8670
FIROZ ALAM Independent 2672
DINESH INSAN Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 2439
RAM PRASAD MAHLI Independent 2056
ASHISH KUMAR SINGH Independent 1700
VIDHANAND MANDAL Bahujan Samaj Party 1369
MD SHAHID HUSSAIN Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1171
TENSAR ROY Independent 1096
MD MERAJ ALAM Ittehad-E-Millait Council 993
ANWAR ALAM Independent 989
RAM VILAS ROY KIsan Shakti Jantantrik Party 953
SHANKAR RAY Independent 580
MURLI KUMAR MANDAL Bahujan Mukti Party 502
MADAN LAL RAY Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 395
None of the Above None of the Above 1925

Kadwa Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
64 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Kadwa Assembly Elections Constituency

The Kadwa assembly segment is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency. The Dandkhora and Kadwa community development blocks are covered by the Kadwa assembly segment. A total of 2,23,753 voters are there in Kadwa of whom 1,18,637 are men and 1,05,113 women.

Electoral History of Kadwa Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Katihar in Bihar, Kadwa is currently lying vacant due to the death of its sitting BJP MLA Bhola Ray who had defeated his nearest rival Himraj Singh of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by an impressive margin of 18367 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

In that election Kadwa, while Bhola Ray polled 38225 votes, Himraj Singh, who had won the seat in 2000 as an Independent, received 19858 votes and was followed by Khwaja Bahauddin Ahmad of the Lalu Yadav's Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) who obtained 18167 votes.

Dinesh Insan, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth place with 13084 votes.

Under the seat sharing arrangement between the BJP and the Janata Dal (United), the Muslim dominated Kadwa seat was allotted to the former. However, as things stand today, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Earlier Abdul Jalil of the NCP had won both the elections to the Kadwa seat in 2005. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Himraj Singh had emerged victorious from the Kadwa assembly seat by defeating Abdul Jalil, then a RJD nominee, by a margin of 7763 votes. in the previous assembly election to the seat in 1995, Bhola Ray was the winner who was trounced in the previous assembly elections in 1990 by Abdul Jalil, then an Independent candidate.

Kadwa is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Katihar currently represented by former Union Minister Tariq Anwar of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Nikhil Kumar Chaudhary of the BJP a margin of 114740 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Kadwa Assembly Election News 2015

Relying on cadre support

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretary Shakeel Ahmed Khan is contesting from Kadwa, a seat in the Seemanchal region. The grand alliance had earlier planned to allocate the seat to NCP of Sharad Pawar. As the NCP walked out of the grand alliance, the seat fell in Congress kitty. Shakeel Ahmed will take on Chandra Bhusan Thakur of BJP in Kadwa.

Both the constestants are being fielded for the first time in Kadwa. Hence they depend heavily on local party workers and cadres to drum up support during th campaign. Bhola Ray of BJP is the sitting MLA of the constituency, who won the seat by winning 38,225 votes in the 2010 assembly election. He defeated Himraj Singh of NCP, who managed 19,858 votes. The Kadwa assembly segment is a part of the Katihar Lok Sabha constituency.

Kadwa Assembly Election Videos 2015