Jokihat Assembly Elections 2015

Jokihat Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SARFRAZ ALAMJanata Dal (United)92890
RANJEET YADAVIndependent38910
KAUSAR ZIAJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)5499
BIBI ZEBA KHATUNHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)4206
MAHA NAND BISHWASIndependent2557
SARFUDDINBahujan Samaj Party1593
GULSHAN ARAIndependent934
MD GAFURBharat Nirman Party789
MOHAMMAD JABIRJanta Dal Rashtravadi765
None of the AboveNone of the Above5388

Jokihat Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
50 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jokihat Assembly Elections Constituency

The Jokihat assembly segment is a part of Araria Lok Sabha Constituency. The assembly segment of Jokihat covers Miyanpur, Barahkumba, Kujri, Bhikha, Majlispur, Nakta Khurd, Suksaina, Pakri, Sohandar, Pechaili and Ramnagar gram panchayats of Palasi community development block and Jokihat CD block. Jokihat is home to a total of 2,40,883 eligible voters. Amongst whom 1,28,929 men and 1,11,949 women.

Electoral History of Jokihat Constituency in Bihar

A stronghold of former Union minister Taslimuddin, Jokihat assembly constituency is currently held by his son Sarfraz Alam who won the seat for the Janata Dal (United) in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest rival Koshar Zia by an impressive margin of 25330 votes. In that election, whereas Sarfraz Alam polled 44027 votes, Koshar Zia, who entered the fray as an Independent candidate, received 18697 votes and was followed by Arun Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal who managed to secure 15053 votes.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Araria district in Bihar, Jokihat assembly seat was won in 2005 by Manzar Alam of RJD who had won both the elections in that year. On both occasions, Sarfraz Alam was his nearest rival. It is pertinent to note that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Jokihat had also been represented by Tasilmuddin who was elected from the seat in 1969, 1972, 1977 1985, 1995. Tasilmuddin, a minister in the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh, is a political turncoat. A powerful leader in the Seemanchal region of the state, Tasilmuddin won as a Congress candidate in 1969. In 1995, he won the seat on the ticket of Samajwadi Party. In 2010 he had joined JD (U) from RJD. However, he once again joined the RJD. Tasilmuddin was also elected from the Araria seat in 1980.

Earlier Moidur Rahman had emerged victorious from Jokihat assembly constituency in 1980 and 1990 on the ticket of the Congress.

Jokihat is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Araria currently represented by Tasilmuddin of the RJD who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Pradeep Kumar Singh of the BJP a margin of 146506 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014 which resulted in the installation of the Narendra Modi government at the centre.

Jokihat Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Hindustani Awam Mocha-Secular has fielded Jeba Khatun in Jokihat. He will take on sitting JD(U) MLA Sarfaraz Alam, son of RJD's Araria MP Mohammed Taslimuddin, who has been renominated from Jokihat. According to census figures, 77.7% of the electorate in Jokihat segment of Araria parliamentary constituency are Muslims. Hence, both parties have given tickets to Muslim candidates here.
But it will be interesting to see which party gets majority of Muslim votes as the issues of development and social progress are also taken into consideration by the youth voters. JD(U)'s Sarfaraz Alam is the sitting MLA of the constituency. Alam won the Jokihat seat with 44,027 votes. He defeated an independent candidate Koshar Zia by a huge margin of 25,330 votes.
The Jokihat assembly segment is a part of Araria Lok Sabha constituency.

Jokihat Assembly Election Videos 2015