Jhanjharpur Assembly Elections 2015

Jhanjharpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
GULAB YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal64320
NITISH MISHRABharatiya Janata Party63486
SUNIL KUMAR JHAIndependent7022
RAM NARAYAN YADAVCommunist Party of India4531
SADA NAND SUMANIndependent4237
OM PRAKASHIndependent3309
RAM NARAYAN MAHTOIndependent2639
MD. HASNAIANIndependent1593
RAJESH KUMAR JHAIndependent1195
RAM BHAROS PASWANBahujan Samaj Party574
GANAPATI JHASamajwadi Party535
MUSTAFA KAMALRashtriya Samanta Dal435
PAWAN KUMAR MISHRAAkhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha380
DHIRENDRA KUMAR KAMATSamajwadi Janata Dal Democratic348
NAVIN KUMAR RAMThe National Road Map Party of India317
None of the AboveNone of the Above1044

Jhanjharpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
38 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jhanjharpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Jhanjharpur egislative assembly segments is in Madhubani district and consists of Parwalpur, Pachahi, Manmohan, Parsad, Mahasingh Hasauli, Banki and Bhit Bhagwanpur gram panchayats of Madhepur community development block; Lakhnaur and Jhanjharpur CD blocks. It is a part of the Jhanjharpur Lok Sabha constituency. It has has 2,71,231 eligible electors of whom 1,42,925 are men and 1,28,301 women voters.

Electoral History of Jhanjharpur Constituency in Bihar

A pocket borough of the Congress till 1995, Jhanjharpur assembly constituency is presently being held by Nitish Mishra of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat in the last assembly elections in Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest Rahstirya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Jagat Narayan Singh by a margin of 20681 votes.

In that election, while Nitish Mishra, a minister in the Jitan Ram Manjhi government, polled 57652, Jagat Narayan Singh received 36971 votes. Harkhu Jha, who contested on the ticket of the Congress, came a distant third with just 5869 votes. Harkhu Jha is the son of former Bihar speaker Radhanandan Jha.

Earlier, Nitish Mishra was elected from the Jhanjharpur assembly seat in both the elections in 2005. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000 Nitish Mishra was defeated by the RJD candidate Jagdish Narayan Chaudhary who was defeated by him in the February elections in 2005.

Barring the 1969 assembly polls, the Congress had won the assembly elections to the seat till 1990. Jhanjharpur assembly constituency had elected Jagannath Mishra five times in a row. He won the seat in 1972, 1977, 1980, 1985 and 1990. Jagannath Mishra, a former Bihar Congress Chief Minister, was convicted by a court of law for his involvement in the fodder scam along with Lalu Yadav. Nitish Mishra is the son of Jagannath Mishra.

Babubarhi is one of the six assembly constituencies that unite to create the parliamentary constituency of Jhanjharpur which is currently represented by Birendra Kumar Chaudhary of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP and RJD candidate Mangani Lal Mandal in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. Mangani Lal Mandal had won the seat in the previous Lok Sabha election on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United).

Jhanjharpur Assembly Election News 2015

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Nitish Mishra a former minister and once a loyalist of former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi is seeking re-election from Jhanjharpur on a BJP ticket. Sitting MLA Mishra is the son of former Bihar CM Jagannath Mishra of Congress. Nitish is facing a stiff challenge from Gulab Yadav of RJD. Sunil Jha, who is in the fray as an independent candidate from Jhanjharpur in Madhubani district, was shot at by unidentified criminals during robbery at his residence on October 10.
Jha was hospitalised. A key player in Jhanjharpur is the five-term MP Devendra Prasad Yadav (aka DP) who has joined Samajwadi Party of Mulayam Singh Yada ahead of election. He quit JD(U) and joined Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM-S) of Jitan Ram Manjhi. But not happy with the seats given to HAM-S by BJP during seat sharing talks, DP joined Samajwadi Party of Mulayam Singh Yadav as part of Third Front.
He had represented Jhanjharpur for long that he can legitimately hope to split votes and defeat the RJD or JDU candidate in the assembly segments within his old constituency. Sitting MLA Nitish Mishra represents the Jhanjharpur segment in the assembly at present. Mishra won from the constituency in 2010 with 57,652 votes in his kitty. While RJD's Jagat Narayan Singh fell well short of him with 36,971 votes in the assembly election.

Jhanjharpur Assembly Election Videos 2015