Jhajha Assembly Elections 2015

Jhajha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RABINDRA YADAVBharatiya Janata Party65537
DAMODAR RAWATJanata Dal (United)43451
BINOD PD. YADAVIndependent20745
AVID KAUSARBahujan Samaj Party11444
SHEO SHANKAR SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist)5281
SURYA VATSIndependent3017
AMARJEET KUMAR SINGHNational Peoples Party1071
VIJAY RAMIndependent981
UMASHANKAR BHAGATVyabasayi Kisan Alpasankhyak Morcha959
MD. ZIAUL HAQUE ANSARIJanta Dal Rashtravadi921
MURARI PRASADIndependent880
MAKASUD ANSARIBharatiya Momin Front737
None of the AboveNone of the Above4354

Jhajha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
242 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jhajha Assembly Elections Constituency

Damodar Rawat of the Janata Dal (United) is the current MLA from Jhajha assembly constituency which he had won for the fourth time in the last general assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating Binod Kumar Yadav of the Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 10204 votes.

In that election while Damodar Rawa, a minister in Bihar government, received 48080 votes, Binod Kumar Yadav, who had contested the previous assembly elections in 2005 as a Lok Janashakti Party, received 37876 votes. Aabid Kauser of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Mohammad Irfan of the Congress came third and fourth with 8736 and 8286 votes respectively.

In the November election in 2010, Damodar Rawat had emerged victorious from the Jhajha assembly seat by trouncing the RJD nominee Rashid Ahmad by a margin of 12344 votes. While in 2010 the RJD and LJP contested the Bihar elections jointly, in 2005 they were fighting against each other. In the February elections in 2005, Rashid Ahmad had lost to Damodar Rawat by a margin of 4930 votes.

Electoral History of Jhajha Constituency in Bihar

Damodar Rawat had won the 2000 election to the Jhajha assembly constituency in which he contested as a nominee of the Samata Party, the earlier incarnation of JD (U). His nearest rival was RJD candidate Ravindra Yadav who had won the seat in previous election in 1995 on a Congress ticket. In 1995 Ravindra Yadav had trounced the sitting Janata Dal (JD) MLA Shiv Nandan Jha by a margin of 7969 votes.

In the past Jhajha assembly constituency has also been represented by former Bihar Chief Minister and Congress leader Chandrashekhar Singh who also served as a Union Minister in the Congress government.

Jhajha is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Chirag Paswan of the LJP who won it by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The JDU nominee and Bihar speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary was relegated to the third place.

Jamui, Chakai, Tarapur, Sheikhpura and Sikandra are other five assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Jamui, reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Jhajha Assembly Election News 2015

Mired in backwardness

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

BJP's Dr Ravindra Yadav is facing Damodar Yadav from JD(U) in this constituency. Located 170 km from Patna, Jamui ranks low in several development parameters such as electricity, infrastructure and economic development. The area is also infamous for being a hotbed for Maoist activity. The enormity of the Maoist problem can be judged from the fact that in 2013, Left ultras had hijacked a passenger train, held the driver hostage and looted the passengers.

Jhajha Assembly Election Videos 2015