Jamui Assembly Elections 2015

Jamui Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
VIJAY PRAKASHRashtriya Janata Dal66577
AJOY PRATAPBharatiya Janata Party58328
ANIL KUMAR SINGHIndependent4094
SANJIT PANBAYIndependent3925
MAHAVIR YADAVIndependent2369
RUPESH KUMAR SINGHCommunist Party of India1975
PRAMOD KUMAR MANDALBahujan Samaj Party1662
MD. ABDUL BAKISamajwadi Party1545
BALDEO PD. BHAGATVyabasayi Kisan Alpasankhyak Morcha724
BHOLA SAWJanta Dal Rashtravadi667
DAVENDRA YADAVIndependent556
AJAY MANDALIndependent516
None of the AboveNone of the Above1975

Jamui Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
241 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jamui Assembly Election Constituency

One of the four assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Jamui is presently represented by Ajay Pratap Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who won it in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010 by trouncing Vijay Prakash of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 24467 votes. In that election, Ajay Pratap Singh polled 60130 votes, Vijay Prakash received 35663 votes and was followed by Arjun Mandal of the Congress who secured 11687 votes. Arjun Mandal had claimed the Jamui seat in 1990 as a nominee of the Janata Dal.

Ajay Pratap Singh is the son of JD (U) minister Narendra Singh who has big clout in the Jamui district. A prominent politician of Bihar known for his shrewdness, Narendra Singh had actively supported Jitan Ram Majhi in the recent political drama of Bihar in which Nitish Kumar once again became the Chief Minister. Narendra Singh’s another son Sumit Kumar Singh is the sitting MLA from Chakai in Jamui district.

Electoral History of Jamui Constituency in Bihar

In the previous assembly elections held in October/November 2005, Abhay Singh, yet another son of Narendra Singh, had emerged victorious on the ticket of the JD (U) from the Jamui seat by defeating Vijay Prakash. Vijay Prakash is the brother of Union minister Jai Prakash Narain Yadav. Abhay Singh had also won the Chakai seat as a nominee of the Lok Jana Shakti Party in the February 2005 polls. Abhay Singh had shot dead his six-month-old daughter and his wife before killing himself in 2010.

In the general assembly elections held in 2000, Jamui was claimed by Narendra Singh who won it on the ticket of the JD (U). Narendra Singh had also won the Chakai seat as an independent in 2000. Curiously enough, he retained the Chakai seat and gave up the Jamui assembly constituency.

Jamui is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Chirag Paswan of the LJP who won it by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sudhansu Shekhar Bhaskar in 2014 Lok Sabha elections. The JDU nominee and Bihar speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary was relegated to the third place.

Chakai, Tarapur, Sheikhpura, Sikandra and Jhajha are other five assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Jamui, reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Jamui Assembly Election News 2015

Bihar phase-1 Polling ends turnout nears 56.85%.

Updated on : Oct-13,2015

It was peaceful polling in the first phase of Bihar assembly election in which voters in 49 assembly constituencies exercised their franchise on Oct 12. The voter turnout recorded until 4 pm in Jamui 56.85%..

Caste arithmetic in focus

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

Sitting JD(U) MLA Ajay Pratap is now a BJP candidate from this constitutency infested with Maoists. CM Nitish Kumar joining hands with Lalu Prasad Yadav has not gone down well with Jamui voters, as is the case in many other districts. The upper class Thakur factor is likely to work in favour of Ajay Pratap. In the Assembly constituency of Jamui, the highest percentage of voters are Thakurs, followed by Yadavs and the combination of Brahmin-Kayastha-Bania communities. The combine has a strong affinity to the BJP, which can be sensed at the market place in Jamui.

Jamui Assembly Election Videos 2015