Jamalpur Assembly Elections 2015

Jamalpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SHAILESH KUMARJanata Dal (United)67273
HIMANSHU KUNVARLok Jan Shakti Party51797
RAJIV NAYAKIndependent2604
KAPILDEO DASBahujan Samaj Party2290
PAPPU YADAVSamajwadi Party1665
NITYA NAND CHOUDHARYVyabasayi Kisan Alpasankhyak Morcha1482
ARJUN KUSHWAHAIndependent1454
HARI PRASAD MAHTO NISHADSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party1222
None of the AboveNone of the Above3847

Jamalpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
166 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jamalpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Jamalpur legislative assembly segment is part of Munger lok sabha constituency. Jamalpur comprises CD Blocks Jamalpur & Dharhara; Gram Panchayats Teliyadih, Naki, Bahira, Agrahan, Badhouna, Gobadda, Kouriya, Baijalpur, Muderi, Rataitha & Barui of Kharagpur CD Block. The assembly constituency of Jamalpur accommodates a total of 2,72,341 eligible voters, out of whom 1,49,846 are males and 1,22,494 are females.

Electoral History of Jamalpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the three assembly segments located in the Munger district of Bihar, Jamalpur assembly constituency is currently held by Shailesh Kumar who won the seat as a Janata Dal (United) nominee in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Sadhana Devi of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by an impressive margin of 21142 votes.

While Shailesh Kumar, the incumbent JD (U) MLA, polled 48337 votes, the LJP candidate received 27195 votes and was followed by Dhanraj Singh of the Congress who received 11954 votes and lost his deposit. A total of 17 candidates were in the fray in 2010.

Tarapur and Munger are the other two assembly constituencies located in Munger district. Both are currently represented by JD (U) legislators.

Earlier Shailesh Kumar had won both the assembly elections to Jamalpur in 2005 on the ticket of the JD (U). On both occasions, his nearest rival was Upendra Pd. Verma of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had defeated the former in 2000 by a margin of 1371 votes. In 2000, Shailesh Kumar entered the fray as an Independent candidate. It must be mentioned that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In the previous assembly election to the Jamalpur seat in 1995, Upendra Pd. Verma, then a Janata Dal (JD) nominee, had polled 30315 votes to defeat Shailesh Kumar by a margin of 7327 votes. In this election, Shailesh Kumar contested on the ticket of Samata Party, the earlier avatar of the JD (U). Upendra Pd. Verma was also elected from the seat in 1977, 1985 and 1990.

Jamalpur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Munger parliamentary constituency currently represented by Veena Devi of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) who won the seat by defeating his nearest JD (U) rival Rajiv Ranjan Singh Alias Lalan Singh by a margin of 109084 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014.

Barh, Munger, Suryagarha, Lakhisarai, Mokama and Barahiya are the other six assembly constituencies falling under the Munger Lok Sabha seat.

Jamalpur Assembly Election News 2015

Institute closure sparks row

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

Railway ministry's decision to wind up a British-era graduate institute for railway mechanical engineers in Jamalpur has erupted into a full-fledged political war. In a letter to railway minister Suresh Prabhu, Bihar CM and JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar expressed surprise at the move at a juncture when the “catch-them-young” policy was being pursued by organisations. Given its rich tradition of excellence, the Indian Railway Institute of Electrical and Mechanical Engineers in Jamalpur should, in fact, be upgraded as a Railway University, says Nitish in his letter.

Jamalpur Assembly Election Videos 2015