Jahanabad Assembly Elections 2015

Jahanabad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MUNDRIKA SINGH YADAVRashtriya Janata Dal76458
PRAVEEN KUMARRashtriya Lok Samta Party46137
SANTOSH KESHARICommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)6716
GOPAL SHARMAIndependent3065
BAJRANGI YADAVIndependent2171
ARVIND KUMAR RAYBahujan Samaj Party2084
SANJAY KUMARShivsena1906
EJAZ AHAMDJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1566
MAHESH KUMARIndependent1302
DHANANJAY KUMARAkhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha982
AWAIS AMBERNationalist Congress Party682
None of the AboveNone of the Above5648

Jahanabad Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
216 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jahanabad Assembly Election Constituency

Jahanabad is a district, a Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency and a legislative assembly segment. Jahanabad legislative assembly segment comprises Jehanabad and Ratni Faridpur community development blocks.

Electoral History of Jahanabad Constituency in Bihar

   Located in the district of the same name in Bihar, Jahanabad is currently held by Abhiram Sharma of the Janata Dal (United) MLA who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Sachitanand Yadav by a comfortable margin of 8567 votes. In that election while Abhiram Sharma polled 35508 votes, Sachitanand Yadav secured 26941 votes.

   Ram Jatan Sinha, former Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee president, who won the Makhdumpur assembly thrice in 1977, 1985 and 1990, came third with 13239 votes and was followed by Bindeshwar Singh of the CPIML with 6447 votes.

   Earlier Sachitanand Yadav, a lecturer, had won both February and the October/November polls to Bihar in 2005. While he had defeated his nearest rival Md. Akber Imam of the JD (U) in the October/November polls, his closest rival in February was Gopal Sharma of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP). In that election, she had defeated Virendra Singh of the BJP by a margin of 2922 votes. In February 2005 Sachitanand Yadav was given ticket in place of Muni Lal Yadav, then the incumbent MLA, who had won the Jahanabad seat for the RJD in 2000 by defeating Syed Asghar Hussain of the Samata Party, the earlier avatar of the JD (U).

   In 1995, Jahanabad was won by Mundrika Singh Yadav of the Janata Dal, which later split into several splinter groups like RJD, Samata Party, Biju Janata Dal, Janata Dal (Secular) and Samajwadi Party.

   The Congress had claimed the Jahanabad assembly seat last time in 1985 when its nominee Syed Asgar

   Hussain emerged victorious by trouncing independent candidate Hari Lal Prasad Singh who however went on to win the next assembly elections held in 1990.

   Jahanabad is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of the same name currently held by Arun Kumar of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an alliance partner of the BJP in Bihar. Arun Kumar had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating former Bihar minister Surendra Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 42340 votes. the RLSP has won three Lok Sabha seats in 2014.

Jahanabad Assembly Election News 2015

Police vigil tightens

The police detained former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi's son Praveen Manjhi in Jehanabad after allegeldly finding him in possession of Rs 4.65 lakh. Parween Manjhi was detained after Rs 4.65 lakh was found in his vehicle during ongoing checking for unaccounted cash, according to district police. The police detained Praveen as the model code of conduct is in force in the state in the wake of five-phase assembly elections.
The police took Praveen to Makhdumpur police station to question him about the source of the cash. It was later reported that he had to pay the amount to a contractor for construction work going on at his residence in Patna's Kankarbagh area. Mundrika Singh Yadav from RJD will be facing the RLSP candidate from the NDA front in this constituency. The Maoists have asked voters in Jamui, Gaya, Aurangabad and Jehanabad to stay away from the assembly polls.

Jahanabad Assembly Election Videos 2015