Jagdishpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAM VISHUN SINGHRashtriya Janata Dal49020
RAKESH RAUSHANRashtriya Lok Samta Party38825
CHANDRADIP SINGHCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)18154
KANHAIYA PRASAD SINGHJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)6410
UDAY SHANKAR SINGHSamajwadi Party5155
BINOD KUMAR SINGHIndependent3068
ANJANI KUMAR SINGHRashtravyapi Janta Party1496
PAMOD YADAVBahujan Samaj Party1440
VP SINGHIndependent1018
DHANANJAY SINGHSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party854
VINOD KUMARIndependent784
HIRALAL SINGHIndependent704
MD. SAGHEER AHMADIndependent642
HUSSAIN IMAMBharat Nirman Party582
SURESH SINGHBahujan Mukti Party504
DINESH SINGHBhartiya Deshbhakt Party437
None of the AboveNone of the Above2263

Jagdishpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
197 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Jagdishpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Jagdishpur is a legislative assembly constituency of the Arrah Lok Sabha constituency. It is located in the Bhojpur district of the state. Jagdishpur is home to a total of 2,62,844 voters amongst them 1,42,471 are males and 1,20,355 are females. Jagdishpur assembly segment would cover Nayka Tola Jangalmahal, Ayar, Agiaon, Tar, Lahthan, Dhwarahi Jangal Mahal, Ktriyan, Akrua, Amehta, Kothua, Rajeyan, Jamuaon, Khannikala, Brawn and Tilath gram panchayats of the Piro community development block; and Jagdishpur community development block.

Electoral History of Jagdishpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Bhojpur in the state of Bihar, Jagdishpur is currently represented by Dinesh Kumar Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who received 55560 votes to defeat Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha of the JD (U) by a margin of 10186 votes in the last assembly polls in 2010. The Lalu led RJD, which contested the elections in alliance with the Lok Janashakti party (LJP), was able to win only 22 seats in 2010.

In the election to Jagdishpur assembly constituency, while Dinesh Kumar Singh received 55560 votes, the JD (U) candidate got 45374 votes and was followed by Sudama Prasad of the CPI (ML) with 16129 votes. The Congress candidate Mangal Singh was relegated to the sixth position with 1961 votes.

In 2010, the BJP did not field its candidate as it was contesting the assembly elections in alliance with the JD (U). However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In a bid to survive, the RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

Earlier Sribhagwan Singh has been elected from the Jagdishpur assembly constituency in 2000 and both the assembly polls in 2005. While In 2000 he claimed the seat for Samata Party (SAP), the earlier incarnation of JD (U), his wins in both the elections came as a nominee of the JD (U).

Jagdishpur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Arrah parliamentary constituency currently represented by Raj Kumar Singh of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha by a margin of 135870 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

Agiaon, Sandesh, Barhara, Arrah, Tarari and Shahpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency.

Jagdishpur Assembly Election News 2015

It is fifty-fifty chance

Updated on : Oct-4,2015

RJD is fielding Ram Vishnu Singh in Jagdishpur. Union minister Upendra Kushwaha's RSLP has nominated Sanjay Mehta in this constituency. The Jagdishpur constituency is represented in the Assembly by RJD's Dinesh Kumar Singh, who won the 2010 assembly elections with 55,560 votes. Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha of JD (U) was defeated by Dinesh Kumar Singh by a margin of 10,186 votes.

Jagdishpur Assembly Election Videos 2015