Islampur Assembly Elections 2015

Islampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
CHANDRASEN PRASADJanata Dal (United)66587
BIRENDRA GOPEBharatiya Janata Party43985
DHARMENDRA KUMARSamajwadi Party4898
UMESH KUMARCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)3014
KUNAL PASWANIndependent2309
ASLAM HUSAINIndependent1981
SHARDA SINHACommunist Party of India1964
RAJ KUMAR MOCHIBahujan Samaj Party1819
RAJMANTI DEVIIndependent1359
SUNIL KUMARAam Janata Party1048
DINKAR KUMARIndependent957
SUDAMA PASWANIndependent552
SARITA DEVIIndependent533
RAMJEE SINGHRastriya Sadabahar Party494
RANA DIGVIJAY SINGHBharatiya Yuva Party (Democratic)475
MADAN KUMARPragatisheel Magahi Samaj428
ABDUL RAQUIBSabjan Party395
YOGENDRA PRASADBharatiya Inqalab Party334
None of the AboveNone of the Above1494

Islampur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
174 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Islampur Assembly Elections Constituency

Islampur is a legislative assembly segment in the Nalanda district of Bihar and is a part of the Nalanda Lok Sabha constituency. The Islampur assembly segment consists of Ekangarsarai and Islampur community development blocks. A total of 2,58,811 voters in the Islampur constituency are eligible to cast their votes, out of whom 1,37,998 are men and 1,20,802 are women.

Electoral History of Islampur Constituency in Bihar

The rebel JD (U) legislator Rajiv Ranjan, who has thrown his weight behind the former Bihar Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi, is the sitting MLA from Islampur assembly seat which he won as a nominee of the JD (U) by defeating his nearest rival Virendra Gop of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 23808 votes in the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010.

In that election, Rajiv Ranjan, who was suspended by the JD (U) last year, polled 56332 votes, the RJD candidate received 32524 votes and was followed by Rakesh Kumar Rousan of the Communist Party of India (CPI) who secured 8369 votes.

Alivendra Kumar, who was nominated by the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), came fourth with 6021 votes and was followed by Vivek Sinha of the Congress with 4581 votes.

Islampur is one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Nalanda district of Bihar. Rajgir, Asthawan, Biharsharif, Hilsa, Nalanda and Harnaut are the other assembly seats located in the district. While Rajgir is currently represented by the BJP, the rest are held by the JD (U) MLAs.

Islampur was won by Pratima Sinha of the JD(U) in 2007 in a byepoll necessitated due to the resignation of Ram Swaroop Prasasd of JD(U) who had emerged victorious from the seat in February and October/November elections in 2005, 2000 and 1985. While Pratima Sinha bagged 42,830 votes, her nearest CPI rival Rakesh Kumar Rousan, backed by Congress, RJD and LJP, secured 33,491 votes. Pratima Sinha is the wife of former Islampur Congress MLA Pankaj Kumar Sinha who was shot dead in 2004. Pankaj Kumar Sinha was elected from the seat in 1980.

Ram Swaroop Prasad was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Nalanada Parliamentary seat in a bye-election in November 2006 by defeating RJD and LJP supported Arun Kumar by one lakh and 17 thousand votes. The byepoll to the Nalanda Lok Sabha was necessitated due to the resignation of Nitish Kumar after he became Chief Minister.

Earlier Krishna Ballabh Prasad Singh, father of Rakesh Kumar Rousan, had claimed the Islampur assembly seat for the Communist Party of India (CPI) in 1977, 1990 and 1995.

Islampur is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Nalanda which is currently represented by Kaushalendra Kumar of the JD (U) who retained the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Nalanda parliamentary seat are Hilsa, Harnaut, Biharsharif, Asthawan, Rajgir and Nalanda.

Islampur Assembly Election News 2015

No ticket to sitting MLA

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

BJP has borrowed its Islampur candidate Birendra Yadav from RJD. Birendra Yadav was defeated by JD(U)'s Rajiv Ranjan in 2010. Rajiv Ranjan, the sitting Islampur legislator, in anticipation of being BJP candidate from Islampur had quit JD(U) recently. The JD(U) has fielded a new face Chandrasen from Islampur. Former JD(U) MLA Rajeev Ranjan who had quit that party and joined BJP in the hope of ticket was not given ticket to contest in Islampur.

Islampur Assembly Election Videos 2015