Imamganj Assembly Elections 2015

Imamganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
JITAN RAM MANJHIHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)79389
UDAY NARAIN CHOUDHARYJanata Dal (United)49981
RAGHUNI RAM SHASTRIShoshit Samaj Dal4297
LALAN KUMARSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party3624
MATHURA PASWANBahujan Samaj Party2732
SHANKAR PASWANCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2109
None of the AboveNone of the Above5552

Imamganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
227 (SC) Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Imamganj Assembly Election Constituency

Imamganj is a legislative assembly constituency is a part of the Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency. The Imamganj constituency lies in the Gaya district and comprises Imamganj, Banke Bazar and Dumaria community development blocks. There are a total of 2,50,843 eligible voters in the Imamganj assembly constituency, out of whom 1,32,969 are men and 1,17,865 are women. The constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SCs).

Electoral History of Imamganj Constituency in Bihar

Barring 1995 polls, all the elections to the Maoist-affected Imamganj assembly constituency in the Gaya district of Bihar has elected Uday Narain Choudhary the current Bihar assembly speaker since 1990. Except the last assembly election to the seat in 2010, in all elections his nearest rival was Ram Swarup Paswan who had defeated him in 1995 by a thin margin of just votes.

Imamganj was won in 2010 by Uday Narain Choudhary who defeated his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) nominee Raushan Kumar Manjhi by a small margin of 1211 votes. In that election, while Choudhary, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), polled 44126 votes, the RJD candidate received 42915 votes and was followed by Sujeet Manjhi of the Congress with 4478 votes.

Uday Narain Choudhary, who unsuccessfully contested the Jamui Lok Sabha seat against Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) in the 2014 parliamentary elections, had won both the elections in 2005. He won February and November/October elections by 1271 and 6642 votes respectively.

In 2000 Uday Narain Choudhary, then a Samata Party candidate, had defeated Ram Swarup Paswan, then a RJD candidate, by a margin of 12501 votes. However, in the previous assembly elections held in 1995, Ram Swarup Paswan, then a Samata nominee, had defeated Uday Narain Choudhary, then a Janata Dal member and Lalu�s nominee.

Uday Narain Choudhary had claimed the Imamganj assembly seat in 1990 for the Janata Dal by trouncing Ram Swarup Paswan by a margin of 10200 votes. In that election, Ram Swarup Paswan was in the contest as an Independent.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Imamganj is one of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district and shares border with Jharkhand.

Imamganj is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Aurangabad currently held by Sushil Kumar Singh of the BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Nikhil Kumar of the Congress by a margin of 66347 votes. Nikhil Kumar is a former Delhi police commissioner and governor of Nagaland and Kerala.

Imamganj Assembly Election News 2015

Manji ready for battle

Imamganj is at the southern edge of Bihar bordering Jharkhand. Only Dalits can contest from the seat which has large Mahadalit and tribal populations. The backward castes and Dalits may decide the fate of this key seat as most voters are either Musahars or Yadavs. Muslims are the third-largest in numbers. Imamganj will decide former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi's claim to be the undisputed Dalit leader.
However, for the last decade and a half the electorate there has elected Uday Narayan Choudhary to represent them in the legislative Assembly. The JD(U) candidate's stature has grown to the point that now he is the Speaker of the Assembly.The scales were tilted in the Grand Alliance's favour in Imamganj. But Manjhi's ouster from the CM's seat has had an effect and hence, he can expect sympathy votes from the locals here.

Imamganj Assembly Election Videos 2015