Hilsa Assembly Elections 2015

Hilsa Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
DEEPIKA KUMARILok Jan Shakti Party46271
SHYAM NARAYAN PRASADCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)5415
SUDHIR KUMARIndependent5263
SANTOSH KUMARIndependent3176
NILAM SINHAJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1961
NIRAJ SHARMABahujan Samaj Party1807
PANKAJ ROYShivsena1624
UMESH RABIDASIndependent964
RAKESH KUMARBharatiya Momin Front747
OM PRAKASH MOCHISankhyanupati Bhagidari Party525
SOHAWAN PASWANNational Janta Party (Indian)524
RAJKUMAR KEWATSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party413
RAMASHRAY SINGHSamajwadi Party399
None of the AboveNone of the Above3405

About Hilsa Assembly Elections Constituency

Hilsa is a legislative assembly constituency and a part of the Nalanda Lok Sabha constituency. There are a total of 2,64,309 voters in the Hilsa assembly constituency who hold the right to vote among them there are 1,40,074 males and 1,24,309 females. Hilsa assembly segment consists of Parbalpur, Karai Parsurai, Tharthari and Hilsa community development blocks.

Electoral History of Hilsa Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Nalanda district of Bihar, Hilsa was won by Usha Sinha of the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Usha Sinha had polled 54974 votes to trounce Rina Devi of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin 13202 votes. Rina Devi who received 41772 votes was followed by Arun Kumar of the Congress who secured only 5472 votes.

Hilsa is one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the Nalanda, home district of Nitish Kumar. Rajgir, Islampur, Asthawan, Biharsharif, Hilsa, Nalanda and Harnaut are the other assembly seats located in the district. While Rajgir is currently represented by the BJP, the rest are held by the JD (U) MLAs.

Earlier both the elections to Hilsa assembly seat in 2005 had elected Ramcharitra Prasad Singh of the JD (U). On both the occasions Rajesh Kumar Singh alias Raju Yadav was his nearest rival.

While Rajesh Kumar Singh entered the fray in February election as a Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), he was the LJP nominee for the October/ November elections. Ramcharitra Prasad Singh had also emerged victorious from the Hilsa seat in 2000 on the ticket of the Samata Party by defeating the sitting RJD MLA Baiju Prasad.

Hilsa is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Nalanda which is currently represented by Kaushalendra Kumar of the JD (U) who retained the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Other six assembly constituencies that are parts of the Nalanda parliamentary seat are Harnaut, Biharsharif, Asthawan, Rajgir, Islampur and Nalanda.

Hilsa Assembly Election News 2015

Lalu's loyalist wins ticket

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

For long, Shakti Yadav has been a strong loyalist of Lalu Prasad Yadav. He gained the proximity to the RJD chief by doing odd jobs, playing the errand boy or troubleshooter with unflinching loyalty. Finally, in this election, they have come centrestage. This prominent face at the RJD chief's 10 Circular Road residence for long has now been given ticket to contest election this time. Shakti Yadav has got the RJD ticket from Hilsa seat in Nalanda. JD(U)'s sitting MLA Usha Sinha was denied renomination from Hilsa seat in Nalanda district to enable Lalu's aide Shakti Singh Yadav contest the election. Shakti Yadav will face Deepika Devi of LJP in a tough contest at Hilsa.

Hilsa Assembly Election Videos 2015