Hathua Assembly Elections 2015

Hathua Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAMSEWAK SINGHJanata Dal (United)57917
MAHACHANDRA PD. SINGHHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)34933
SAVIV ALAMJanta Dal Rashtravadi3903
IMTEYAJ AHMADBahujan Samaj Party3429
INDRA KUMAR JYOTIKARRashtriya Jan-Jagram Morcha3336
RAMAJI SAHGarib Janta Dal (Secular)2138
SRIRAM SHARMACommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)2066
FAROOKH KHANBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party1501
RAM NARESH PANDITLoktantrik Sarvjan Samaj Party1154
SANJAY KUMAR MAURYABhartiya Janhit Dal1150
MALAY KUN MISHRABharatiya Ekta Dal850
None of the AboveNone of the Above2723

Hathua Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
104 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Hathua Assembly Elections Constituency

Hathua assembly constituency in Gopalganj district. This segment consist of Phulwaria community development block; Hathua community development block; and the Mirganj notified area and Balesara, Jamsar, Mohaicha and Trilokpur gram panchayats of Uchkagaon community development block. There are a total of 2,57,420 eligible voters amongst them 1,31,555 are men and 1,25,860 are women.

Electoral History of Hathua Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Gopalganj district of Bihar, Hathua was won by Ram Sewak Singh of the Janata Dal (United) in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Ram Sewak Singh had polled 22847 votes to trounce Rajesh Kumar Singh of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin 22847 votes. Rajesh Kumar Singh, who received 27861 votes, was distantly followed by the Congress candidate Babudin Khan who received 7929 votes.

The BJP did not field its candidate as it was in alliance with JDU in that election. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. The RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

In 2011, Ram Sewak Singh was arrested for his alleged torture of the persons whom he believed to have voted against one of his relatives in the local panchayat elections.

Hathua, which came into being before 2010 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is one of the six assembly segments that unite form the parliamentary constituency of Gopalganj currently represented by Janak Ram of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival Jyoti Bharti of the Congress by a margin of 2, 86,936 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014. Janak Ram was formerly with the BSP.

Other five assembly constituencies in Gopalganj are Bhore, Kuchaikote, Gopalganj, Barauli and Baikunthpur.

Hathua Assembly Election News 2015

Caste versus progress

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

JD(U) MLC (member of legislative council) Mahachandra Prasad is contesting here on HAM-Secular ticket. He will take on the sitting JD(U) MLA Ram Sevak Singh. Ram Sevak will be relying on the caste factor and the strength of Grand Alliance to get re-elected from Hathua. However, the NDA candidate Mahachandra Prasad will be keen to fully exploit the goodwill support generated by PM Modi's campaign with focus on social and economic progress in Bihar. The voters of Hathua constituency elected Ram Sewak Singh of JD(U) with 50,708 votes in the 2010 assembly elections. RJD's Rajesh Kumar Singh was the runner-up with 27,861 votes.

Hathua Assembly Election Videos 2015