Gurua Assembly Elections 2015

Gurua Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAJIV NANDANBharatiya Janata Party56480
DEONANDAN YADAVBahujan Samaj Party4330
RANDHIR KUMAR SINGHAam Janta Party Rashtriya2955
ANWAR ALI KHANNationalist Congress Party2681
GOPAL PRASADJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2658
RAM PRAKASH SINGH 'CHUMAN'Samras Samaj Party2650
SHALESH KUMARIndependent2434
UPENDRA YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1872
AJAY KUMARPragatisheel Magahi Samaj1783
CHANDRASHEKHAR PRASADAkhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari)1710
None of the AboveNone of the Above6032

Gurua Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
225 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gurua Assembly Election Constituency

Gurua legislative assembly segment is located in the Gaya district and belongs to the Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency. There are total of 2,42,127 eligible voters in the constituency, there are 1,29,478 men and 1,12,642 women. Gurua assembly constituency consists of Gurua, Guraru and Paraiya Community development blocks.

Electoral History of Gurua Constituency in Bihar

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district of Bihar, Gurua was won by the BJP for the first time by the BJP in the last assembly polls to the state in 2010 when its nominee Surendra Prasad Sinha emerged victorious from the seat by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Bindeshwari Prasad Yadav alias Bindi Yadav by a margin of 11436 votes. In that election, Surendra Prasad Sinha, received 46767 votes, Bindi Yadav, a former gangster, got 35331 votes and was followed by Anwar Khan of the nationalist Congress party (NCP) who managed to secure 8155 votes.

Aniruddh Prasad, who entered the fray on the ticket of the Congress, was relegated to the fifth place with 4419 votes.

In the previous assembly elections held in October/November in 2005, Gurua was won by Shakeel Ahmad Khan of the RJD who defeated Birbhadra Yashraj of the BJP by a small margin of 1580 votes. While Shakeel Ahmad Khan, former Bihar minister in the RJD government, polled 27777 votes, Birbhadra Yashraj received 26197 votes and was closely followed by Anwar Khan, then a Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) nominee, who got 23,129 votes. In the February 2005 Shakeel Ahmad Khan had trounced Birbhadra Yashraj, then an LJP candidate, by a good margin of 14993 votes.

In 2000 Shakeel Ahmad Khan was elected from the Gurua assembly constituency on the ticket of the RJD. He contested the Sherghati assembly seat in 2010 and lost. He was unsuccessfully fielded by the Communist Party of India (CPI) from Gaya Town assembly seat in 1980, 1985 and 1990.

In 1990 the independent candidate Ramadhar Singh, with the backing of the Naxals, won the seat by defeating Kaushalendra Singh alias Tun Tun Singh of the BJP by a margin of 6022 votes. Ramadhar Singh's son Ashok Singh is the sitting JD (U) MLA from Rafiganj assembly seat which he won by defeating Mohammad Nehaluddin of the RJD by an impressive margin of 23685 votes. Rafiganj is located in the neighbouring Aurangabad district.

Gurua is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Aurangabad currently held by Sushil Kumar Singh of the BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Nikhil Kumar of the Congress by a margin of 66347 votes. Nikhil Kumar is a former Delhi police commissioner and governor of Nagaland and Kerala.

Gurua Assembly Election News 2015

Sitting MLA denied ticket

BJP denied ticket to its sitting MLA Surendra Prasad from Gurua and instead chose Rajiv Dangi as its candidate. JD(U) candidate Ramchandra Prasad has everything going from him with large support base and the caste affiliations. From the Third Front, Pappu Yadav's Jan Adhikar Party has chosen Gopal Prasad to contest in Gurua.

Gurua Assembly Election Videos 2015