Govindganj Assembly Elections 2015

Govindganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAJU TIWARILok Jan Shakti Party74685
BRAJESH KUMARIndian National Congress46765
PANKAJ KUMARIndependent2481
RAVINDRA DUBEYBahujan Samaj Party2376
VIJAY KUMARIndependent2092
PAPPU GIRIJammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party946
None of the AboveNone of the Above3441

Govindganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
14 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Govindganj Constituency

Govindganj is part of the easterm Champaran Lok Sabha constituency. It covers the areas of Paharpur and Areraj community development blocks, Purbi Sangampur, Paschimi Sangampur and Sangampur CD Block's Dakshini Bariyariya. It is home to 1,22,553 male and 1,01,495 female voters, thus taking the total of the electoral roll to 2,24,048.

Electoral History of Govindganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Purvi district of Bihar, Govindganj is currently held by Meena Dwivedi of the Janata Dal (United) who retained the seat in the last Bihar assembly polls in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Rajan Tiwari of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a comfortable margin of 8405 votes. While 33859 votes were polled in favour of Meena Dwivedi, Rajan Tiwari, the winner of the Govindganj assembly seat in 2005, received 25454 votes and was followed by Jai Prakash Panday of the Congress with 13071 votes.

Earlier, Meena Dwivedi was elected from the Govindganj assembly seat in both the elections in 2005. Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Rajan Tiwari had emerged victorius as an Independent candidate from the Govindganj assembly constituency by defeating the sitting Samata Party MLA Bhupendra Nath Dubey by a margin of 3263 votes. Bhupendra Nath had won the Govindganj seat in the assembly by-elections in 1998 on the ticket of Samata Party by defeating RJD nominee Yogendra Pandey. The byepoll was necessitated due to the murder of his brother and alleged arms peddler Devendra Nath Dubey who had won the seat in 1995 by defeating the incumbent MLA Yogendra Pandey, then a Janata Dal member.

Rajan Tiwari, an accused in the murder of former RJD minister Brij Bihari Prasad, was later acquitted by the Patna high court in 2014. He was also an accused in murder of CPM MLA Ajit Sarkar.

Before 1985, Govindganj was a bastion of the Congress. Barring the 1969 assembly election to the seat when Hari Shankar Sharma of Bhartiya Jana Sangh emerged victorious, the Congress had won all the elections since 1951.

Govindganj is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Purvi Champaran which is currently represented by Union BJP minister Radha Mohan Singh of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival by a margin of Binod Kumar Srivastava votes in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly constituencies are Harsidhi, Kesaria, Kalyanpur, Pipra and Motihari.

Govindganj Assembly Election News 2015

Sitting MLA quits JD(U)

Updated on : Oct-8,2015

Sitting JD(U) MLA from Govindganj Meena Dwivedi has joined Jan Adhikar Party, which is part of Mulayam Singh's Third Front, after she was denied ticket. Brajesh Kumar Pandey from Congress will fight it out with Raju Tiwari of Lok Jhanshakti Party of Ram Vilas Paswan. Meena Dwivedi of JD (U) is the sitting MLA of the Govindganj constituency. She defeated Raju Tiwari of (LJP) with a margin of 8,405 votes in the assembly elections in November 2010.

Govindganj Assembly Election Videos 2015