Goriakothi Assembly Elections 2015

Goriakothi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SATYADEO PRASAD SINGHRashtriya Janata Dal70965
DEVESH KANT SINGHBharatiya Janata Party63314
TRIBHUWAN RAMIndependent5230
RENU YADAVIndependent4016
ASHOK KUMAR SINGHIndependent3060
TARKESHWAR YADAVCommunist Party of India2921
LAL BABU SHARMAIndependent2890
RAJ KAPUR PRASAD YADAVBahujan Samaj Party2010
CHANDRAMA SAHIndependent1581
RAMAYAN SINGHIndependent1575
UMA SHANKAR TIWARIBhartiya New Sanskar Krantikari Party1530
VIJAY KUMAR SINGHIndependent1236
NAYAN PRASADBharat Ka Kisan Majdoor Party487
FAZALE ALIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)469
None of the AboveNone of the Above2296

Goriakothi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
111 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Goriakothi Assembly Elections Constituency

Goriakothi is a legislative assembly constituency in the Siwan district but a part of the Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency. Goriakothi is home to a total of 2,78,210 eligible voters. Of which, 1,46,390 are males and 1,31,814 are females. The Goriakothi assembly segment comprises Basantpur, Lakri Nabiganj and Goriakothi community development blocks.

Electoral History of Goriakothi Constituency in Bihar

  One of the eight assembly segments located in the Siwan district of Bihar, Goriakothi is currently lying vacant due to the death of its sitting MLA Bhupendra Narayan Singh of the BJP who had won the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MLA Indradeo Prasad by a handsome margin of 14021 votes. While 42533 votes were polled in favour of Bhupendra Narayan Singh, popularly known as CHunnu Babu, Indradeo Prasad received 28512 votes and was followed by independent candidate Satyadeo Prasad Singh who got 11782 votes.

   Dharmendra Kr Verma, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Congress, was relegated to the fourth place with 10192 votes. Siwan, Ziradei, Darauli, Raghunathpur, Daraunda, Barharia and Maharajganj are the other seven assembly constituencies located in the Siwan district.

  In the previous Bihar general assembly elections held in the month of October/November in 2005, Goriakothi was won by Indradeo Prasad who had earlier lost to Bhupendra Narayan Singh in the election held in February that year. The October/November polls were necessitated due to the hung assembly thrown by the February elections.

  Apart from the 2005 February polls, Indradeo Prasad had won the 1985, 1995 and 2000 elections. While his first win in 1985 came as a nominee of the BJP, he claimed the seat in 1995 and 2000 on the tickets of the Janata Dal and RJD respectively. While his nearest rival in 1995 was Bhupendra Narayan Singh, then a Congress nominee, in 2000 he had trounced Ajit Kumar Singh who had won the Goriakothi seat in 1980 and 1990 as candidates of the Congress and Janata Dal respectively.

  Goriakothi is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Maharajganj which is currently represented by Janardan Singh Sigriwal of the BJP who won the seat by defeating the sitting RJD MP Prabhunath Singh in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections that installed the Narendra Modi government at the centre. Manoranjan Singh of the JD (U) was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that fall under the Maharajganj Lok Sabha seat are Baniapur Maharajganj, Ekma, Manjhi and Taraiya.

Goriakothi Assembly Election News 2015

After father, his son now

Updated on : Oct-9,2015

Deveshkant Singh of BJP is jumping into the poll fray after the death of his father and sitting MLA Bhumendra Narayan Singh. Sri Satyadeo Prasad Singh of RJD wil be contesting against the BJP candidate in Goriakothi. However, RJD candidate is banking on the caste factor and the strength of Grand Alliance to win this election. Mahagathbandhan or the Grand Alliance has to do lots of homework for this constituency.
Mainly upper castes will play a prominent role and the odds favour the BJP candidate. Goriakothi was represented in the assembly by BJP's Bhumendra Narayan Singh, who got 42,533 votes in the 2010 election. He defeated Indradeo Prasad of RJD, who had to content with 28,512 votes.

Goriakothi Assembly Election Videos 2015