Gopalpur Assembly Elections 2015

Gopalpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
NARENDRA KUMAR NIRAJJanata Dal (United)57403
ANIL KUMAR YADAVBharatiya Janata Party52234
SURES BHAGATIndependent6410
BRAHMDEO YADAVCommunist Party of India4462
AMIT RANAIndependent3186
AMARENDA SINGH NISHADNationalist Congress Party2807
SUNIL KUMARIndependent2239
MD. MOHIUDDINIndependent1867
PANKAJ KUMARIndependent1032
RAMBILASH PASWANBahujan Samaj Party616
MD. AISHAANThe National Road Map Party of India448
None of the AboveNone of the Above5042

Gopalpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
153 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gopalpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Gopalpur legislative assembly segment is a part of the Bhagalpur lok sabha constituency. Gopalpur comprises CD Blocks Gopalpur, Naugachhia, Rangra Chowk & Ismailpur.

Electoral History of Gopalpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the seven assembly segments located in the Bhagalpur district of Bihar, Gopalpur is currently held by Narendra Kumar Niraj of the Janata Dal (United) who retained the seat in the last assembly elections in 2010 by defeating Amit Rana of the Rahstriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a handsome margin of 25060 votes. While 53876 votes were polled in favour of Narendra Kumar Niraj, Amit Rana, former RJD MLA, received 28816 votes and was followed by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha�s Ranjan Kumar who got 9360 votes.

Shital Prasad Singh, who entered the fray as a nominee of the Congress, was relegated to the seventh place with just 2717 votes.

Bihpur, Pirpainti, Kahalgaon, Bhagalpur, Sultanganj and Nathnagar are the other six assembly constituencies located in the Bhagalpur district.

In the previous Bihar general assembly elections held in the month of October in 2005, Gopalpur was won by Narendra Kumar Niraj who had earlier lost to the sitting MLA Amit Rana in the election held in February that year which was necessitated due to the hung assembly thrown by the February polls.

Earlier, Rabindra Kr. Rana, father of Amit Rana, had emerged victorious from the Gopalpur assembly constituency in 1995 and 2000 on the tickets of Janata Dal and RJD respectively. In 1990 the seat went in favour of the BJP whose candidate Gyaneshwar Yadav had claimed it by trouncing the sitting Congress MLA Madan Prasad Singh who was elected in 1980 and 1985. Madan Prasad Singh was also winner of the seat in 1969 and 1972.

In the elections following Indian independence Gopalpur was a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI). Its candidate Mani Ram Singh claimed the seat in 1957, 1967 and 1977.

One of the six assembly constituencies located in the Bhagalpur district, Gopalpur is one of the six assembly constituencies the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Bhagalpur which is currently represented by Shailesh Kumar Mandal alias Bulo Mandal of the RJD who won the seat by defeating Shahnawaz Hussain of the BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin 9,485 votes.

Pirpainti, Bihpur, Kahalgaon, Bhagalpur and Nathnagar are the other assembly seats that fall under the Bhagalpur Lok Sabha constituency.

Gopalpur Assembly Election News 2015

Rajnath assures voters

Updated on : Sep-29,2015

Home minister and BJP chief Rajnath Singh addressed a rally in Gopalpur on Gandhi Jayanthi (October 2). He said as India has a strong government Bihar also needs a strong and effective government. Rajnath assured self-employment schemes for all as every individual has a skill set which can be further honed under their skill development programme. He assured voters in Gopalpur that they would get subsidised loans from Mudra Bank aimed at providing easy and cheaper loans for encouraging entrepreneurship. BJP has fielded Anil Yadav in Gopalpur.

Gopalpur Assembly Election Videos 2015