Gopalganj Assembly Elections 2015

Gopalganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
SUBASH SINGHBharatiya Janata Party78491
REYAJUL HAQUE ALIAS " RAJU"Rashtriya Janata Dal73417
JAY HIND PRASADBahujan Samaj Party3565
OM PRAKASH SINGHIndependent3240
SUNIL PANDEYIndependent2937
SURENDRA RAMIndependent2844
CHANDAN SINGHRajnaitik Vikalp Party1255
VIDYA PRASAD KUSHVAHACommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)754
YOGENDRA PRASADBharatiya Ekta Dal501
SIKANDER AZAMGareeb Aadmi Party485
PRAMOD KUMAR SINGHSamajwadi Party382
MOTILAL GUPTASocialist Party (India)330
None of the AboveNone of the Above1618

Gopalganj Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
101 GEN Phase IV Oct 7th 2015 Nov 1st 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gopalganj Assembly Elections Constituency

Gopalganj legislative assembly constituencyis in the same district, and same Lok Sabha constituency India recommended in 2008 that the Gopalganj legislative assembly segment would comprise Dahibhata, Bairia Durg, Jhirwa, Uchkagaon, Luhsi, Chhotka Sankhe, Nawada Parsauni, Harpur, Parsauni Khas and Sakhekhas gram panchayats of Uchkagaon community development block; Thawe community development block; and Gopalganj community development block. The assembly segment of Gopalganj has 2,78,708 eligible voters, out of which 1,42,876 are men and 1,35,827 are women.

Electoral History of Gopalganj Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly segments located in the district of Gopalganj of Bihar, Gopalganj is currently represented by Subas Singh who retained the seat for the BJP by defeating Reyazul Haque of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 15893 votes in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly. While 58010 votes were polled in favour of Subas Singh, Reyazul Haque received 42117 votes and was distantly followed by Anirudh Prasad with 8488 votes. Popularly known as Sadhu Yadav, Anirudh Prasad entered the fray as a Congress candidate after parting ways from his brother-in-law Lalu Yadav.

In the previous assembly elections to Bihar held in the month of November in 2005, Gopalganj assembly seat was won by Subas Singh who had defeated Reyazul Haque, then a sitting Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MLA, who had emerged victorious from the seat in the previous assembly election in February by trouncing Subas Singh who contested on the ticket of Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

Sadhu Yadav was elected from the Gopalganj assembly constituency in 2000 as a nominee of the RJD by virtue of his victory over Subas Singh.

Earlier Gopalganj has sent some prominent politicians to Bihar legislative assembly. Prominent among them were former Kerala governor Ram Dulari Sinha and former Bihar chief Ministers Abdul Ghafoor and S.N.Sinha. Barring the election to the seat in 1967, all the elections till 1972 were won by the Congress which has not been able to win the seat since 1977.

Kali Prasad Pandey, a strongman of Gopalganj, had represented the Gopalganj assembly constituency which he won in 1980 as an independent.

Gopalganj is one of the six assembly segments that unite form the parliamentary constituency of the same name currently represented by Janak Ram of the BJP who won it by defeating his nearest rival Jyoti Bharti of the Congress by a margin of 2,86,936 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Gopalganj Assembly Election News 2015

A tough contest for sure

Updated on : Oct-6,2015

RJD's Riyazul Haq is the grand alliance candidate from Gopalganj Sadar. BJP has fielded two-time MLA and incumbent Subhash Singh from Gopalganj. Both the candidates faced each other in 2010 assembly election and share a traditional rivalry. There is growing demand for Uttar Pradesh MP Mahant Yogi Adityanath among voters in this border constituency. Local people want Yogi to campaign for BJP candidates.
Yogi is likely to address gatherings as per a scheduled programme, while several other eastern UP MPs of the party would also be deployed on Bihar election duty. Maharajganj MP Pankaj Chaudhary and Kushinagar MP Rajesh Pandey want to be deployed in Gopalganj as part of BJP's poll campaign. The sitting MLA of the constituency is BJP's Subash Singh who won the Gopalganj assembly seat by getting 58,010 votes in the assembly elections held in November 2010. Riyazul Haque of RJD was the runner-up with 42,117 votes.

Gopalganj Assembly Election Videos 2015