Goh Assembly Elections 2015

Goh Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MANOJ KUMARBharatiya Janata Party53615
DOCTOR RANVIJAY KUMARJanata Dal (United)45943
SURESH PRASAD YADAVCommunist Party of India18951
AKSHAY KUMARBahujan Samaj Party6743
SANJEET KUMARIndependent1621
MD. EKALAKH KHANSarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party1563
AWADHESH KUMARIndependent1561
RAJESH KUMAR (AKAUNA)Independent1341
SHAYAM SUNDERJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1256
SANJAY KUMARIndependent1240
SHRIKANT SHARMAIndependent1216
REETA DEVIIndependent956
JIMEDAR SINGHSamras Samaj Party572
SURESH PASWANIndependent567
HARI PRASAD SINGHAkhil Hind Forward Bloc (Krantikari)403
None of the AboveNone of the Above989

Goh Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
219 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Goh Constituency

Goh legislative assembly constituency is located in Aurangabad. It consists of CD block, Haspura and Goh, Gram Panchayata, Pauithu, Itar, Latta and Sihuki of Rafigang CD block

Electoral History of Goh Constituency in Bihar

One of the six assembly constituencies in the Aurangabad district of Bihar, Goh is currently held by Ranvijay Singh of the Janata Dal (United) who retained it in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010 by defeating his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Ram Ayodhya Prasad Yadav by a narrow margin of 694 votes.

In that election, while Ranvijay Kumar polled 36860 votes, Ram Ayodhya Prasad Yadav received 46684 votes and was distantly followed by Kaukab Quadri of the Congress who managed to secure 8418 votes.

Suresh Prasad Yadav, who entered the contest on the ticket of Communist Party of India (CPI), came fourth with 3407 votes. Jitendra Singh of the Mayawati led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was relegated to fifth position with 2640 votes.

Known for his muscle power, Ranvijay Singh had also won both the elections to the Goh constituency in 2005. While in February elections his nearest rival was Deo Narayan Singh Yadav of the Congress, in the next assembly elections in 2005 he had defeated Kaukab Quadri.

Deo Kumar Sharma, who had emerged victorious from the Goh assembly constituency in 2000 on the ticket of the Samata Party, had also earlier claimed the seat in 1985 as a Congress candidate.

Once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI), Goh has been represented by the party MLA Ram Sharan Yadav for four terms. He had won the seat in 1977, 1980, 1990 and 1995.

In the earlier part of the electoral politics following the Indian independence, Nabinagar had sent Thakur Muneshwar Nath Singh to Bihar legislative assembly three times (1962, 1967 and 1972). He was defeated by Ram Sharan Yadav in 1977.

Goh is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Karakat which is currently held by Upendra Kushwaha of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party RLSP who had defeated RJD nominee Kanti Singh in the last general Lok Sabha elections in 2014.

Other five assembly segments that are part of Karakat parliamentary constituency are Nabinagar, Dehri, Bikramganj, Karakat, Goh and Obra.

Goh Assembly Election News 2015

Businessman turns politician

39-year-old Manoj Sharma is the BJP candidate from Goh in Aurangabad district. He was happy with his business though he belongs to a political family. His late father D.K. Sharma was a two-term MLA. The young man, whose father was with the JDU, started interacting with BJP leaders in 2013 and formally joined the party in 2014.

Though this would be his first brush with electoral politics, he hopes to perform well as the BJP wants to work for overall development of the society instead of promoting caste politics, says Manoj Sharma. Sharma's rival is Ran Vijar Kumar from JD(U) in Goh.

Goh Assembly Election Videos 2015