Gobindpur Assembly Elections 2015

Gobindpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
PURNIMA YADAVIndian National Congress43016
FULA DEVIBharatiya Janata Party38617
MD KAMRANIndependent32646
SARWAN KUMARIndependent8469
SATENDRA MOCHIIndependent2093
MOKIM UDDINBahujan Samaj Party1633
RAM KRISHNA MAHTOCommunist Party of India1614
SHANKAR PRASADIndependent1480
VIJAY RAMMoolniwasi Samaj Party1400
None of the AboveNone of the Above5411

Gobindpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
238 GEN Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gobindpur Assembly Election Constituency

Gobindpur Legislative Assembly is part of the Nawada Lok Sabha constituency. It consists of Gobindpur, Roh and Kowakol community development blocks. A total of 2,69,527 voters are in Gobindpur of whom 1,43,565 are men and 1,25,954 women. Gobindpur legislative assembly constituency consist of Gobindpur, Roh and Kowakol community development blocks.

Electoral History of Gobindpur Constituency in Bihar

Kaushal Yadav, who unsuccessfully contested the Nawada Lok Sabha seat in the 2014 parliamentary elections on the ticket of the Janata Dal (United), is the sitting JD(U) MLA from Gobindpur, one of the five assembly constituencies located in the Nawada district of Bihar. In the last assembly elections to Bihar held in 2010, he retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Prof. K. B. Prasad of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) by a margin of 20887 votes. In that election while Kaushal Yadav polled 45589 votes, the LJP nominee secured 24702 votes.

Asadullah Khan, who entered the contest as a Congress candidate, came fifth with just 2640. The Lalu led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) did not field its candidate because Gobindpur was allotted to the LJP under the seat sharing arrangement among them.

Earlier Kaushal Yadav had also won both the elections to the Gobindpur seat in 2005 as an independent. Kaushal Yadav�s wife Purnima Yadav is the sitting JD (U) MLA from Nawada, one of the five assembly constituencies located in the district of the same name of which Gobindpur is also a part. While in October/November 2005, Kaushal Yadav had trounced his RJD rival Sanjay Kumar Prabhat by a margin of 15276 votes, in the previous assembly elections held in February in 2005, he had polled 65224 votes to defeat Prof. K. B Prasad, then a JD (U) candidate, by a massive margin of 54732 votes.

K. B Prasad had won the Gobindpur assembly seat in 1995 as a nominee of the Janata Dal by defeating the sitting Congress MLA Gayatri Devi who had emerged victorious from the seat in 1980, 1985, 1990 and 2000. While Gayatri Devi�s first three wins came as a nominee of the Congress, she claimed the seat in 2000 for the RJD. It is interesting to note that Gayatri Devi is the mother of Kaushal Yadav and she lost the February elections in 2005 in which her son emerged victorious.

Gobindpur is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Nawada currently held by Union minister Giriraj Singh of BJP who had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating Raj Ballabh Yadav of the RJD.

Gobindpur Assembly Election News 2015

Shuffling of candidates

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

Congress has fielded a woman candidate Purnima Yadav from Gobindpur. In 2010 elections, Poornima Yadav had won as JD(U) candidate from Nawada seat. Her husband Kaushal Yadav had won as JD(U) candidate from Gobindpur in 2010. But Nawada and Gobindpur seats this year were allotted to the RJD and Congress, respectively. As part of seat-sharing, Poornima was made Congress candidate from Gobindpur while her husband was shifted to Hisua as JD(U) candidate.

Gobindpur Assembly Election Videos 2015