Ghosi Assembly Elections 2015

Ghosi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
RAHUL KUMARHindustani Awam Morcha (Secular)45623
RAMBALI YADAVCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)10894
VIMAL KUMARNational Janta Party (Indian)2358
RAJNISH KUMARIndependent1705
JAVED ALAMBahujan Samaj Party1516
PRABHAT KUMAR RANJANNationalist Congress Party874
None of the AboveNone of the Above5212

Ghosi Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
217 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Ghosi Assembly Election Constituency

Ghosi is a legislative assembly constituency in the Jahanabad district belongs to the Jahanabad Lok Sabha constituency. The Ghosi assembly constituency consists of Barawan, Damuha, Saidabad Parsain, Pashchimi Kako, Purvi Kako, Utarserthua, Khalispur and Bara gram panchayats of Kako community development block; Ghoshi community development block; Hulasganj community development block; and Modanganj community development block.

Electoral History of Ghosi Constituency in Bihar

One of the three assembly constituencies located in the Jehanabad district of Bihar, Ghosi is currently represented by Rahul Kumar who won it for the Janata Dal (United), the present ruling patry in the state, in the last assembly elections to the state in 2010. In that election to Ghosi , while Rahul Kumar, whose father Jagdish Sharma had been elected consecutively eight times from this seat since 1977, polled 40364 votes to defeat his nearest rival Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) nominee by a margin of 14276 votes. Rahul�s membership has been terminated by the assembly Speaker Udai Narain Singh for voting against the official candidates in the Rajya Sabha byepolls.

Known for switching his loyalties at regular intervals, Jagdish Sharma had won the Ghosi seat in 1977, 1980, 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000 and in both the elections in 2005. He entered the Bihar legislative assembly first time from Ghoshi as an MLA of Janata Party in 1977. He contested the next assembly elections in 1980 on the ticket of the BJP. His next three wins in 1985, 1990 and 1995 came as a nomine of the Congress. Jagdish Sharma, who entered the fray in 2000 and February 2005 elections as an Independent, won the 2005 October/November elections on the ticket of the JD(U). He resigned from the Ghoshi assembly seat in 2009 after his election to the Lok Sabha as a JD (U) nominee. In the bye-election held to the Ghoshi assembly constituency in 2009, his wife Shanti Sharma emerged victorious as an Independent. Shanti Sharma tried her luck as an Independent as the JD (U) refused ticket to her. However, in the next general assembly elections in 2010, Jagdish Sharma�s son Rahul Kumar managed to get the party ticket and won the elections.

Jagdish Sharma, along with Lalu Prasad, has been disqualified to contest the elections following his conviction in the fodder scam by special CBI court at Ranchi.

In 1972, Ghosi assembly seat went in favour of veteran Communist Party of India (CPI) leader Ramashraya Prasad Singh who later went on to win the Jahanabad Lok Sabha seat for times in a row 1984, 1989, 1991 and 1996.

Ghosi is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Jahanabad currently held by Arun Kumar of Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an alliance partner of the BJP in Bihar. Arun Kumar had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating former Bihar minister Surendra Yadav of the RJD by a margin of 42340 votes.

Ghosi Assembly Election News 2015

BJP levels charges

BJP Lok Sabha MP Harinarayan Rajbhar from Ghosi alleged that members of Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh's family have links with the scam involving former Noida Authority chief engineer Yadav Singh. The entire Mulayam family is involved in the Yadav Singh case, he said.
Further, he informed that he will raise this issue forcefully in the Lok Sabha session. Hindustani Awami Morcha (HAM-S) has fielded Rahul Kumar from Ghosi. Rahul Kumar is facing a stiff challenge from Krishna Nandan Verma of JD(U) in Ghosi constituency.

Ghosi Assembly Election Videos 2015