Gaya Town Assembly Elections 2015

Gaya Town Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
PREM KUMARBharatiya Janata Party66891
PRIYA RANJANIndian National Congress44102
MASOOD MANZARCommunist Party of India2363
ABUL FARHABahujan Samaj Party672
AJAY YADAVSamajwadi Party578
RANJEET PRASADBharat Bhrashtachar Mitao Party520
SHISHUPAL KUMARSwabhiman Party455
RAM PARSAD GUPTARashtriya Pragati Party370
MALTI DEVIIndependent329
VIJAY SINGHPragatisheel Magahi Samaj321
NARESH PRASADIndependent255
ASAD PERWEZInternational Party206
None of the AboveNone of the Above670

Gaya Town Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
230 GEN Phase II Sep 21st 2015 Oct 16th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gaya Town Assembly Elections Constituency

Gaya Town is a legislative assembly segment is located in the Gaya district and a part of the Gaya (SC) Lok Sabha constituency. A total of 2,35,142 people are eligible voters of them there are 1,26,903 men and 1,08,206 women. It consist of Paharpur (CT), Ward No. 38, Kaler (OG) and Ward Nos. 1 to 31 in Gaya (M. Corp) of Gaya Town community development block

Electoral History of Gaya Town Constituency in Bihar

One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Gaya district of Bihar, Gaya Town was won by Prem Kumar of the BJP for the record sixth time in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Prem Kumar, who has been representing the seat since 1990, had polled 55618 votes to defeat Jalaluddin Ansari of the Communist party of India (CPI) by a margin 28417 votes. Jalaluddin Ansari received 27201 votes and was followed by Akhoury Onkar Nath of the Congress who secured 7664 votes. Raj Kumar Prasad of the Ram Vilas Paswan led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), which contested the 2010 elections in association with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), came fourth with 4098 votes.

Except for October/November 2005, the CPI had been the runner up in all the elections to the seat since 1980. In all these elections, the CPI had fielded Muslim candidates except for October/November 2005 in which the runner up was the Congress candidate Sanjay Sahay. The CPI�s Bachchu Lal Bithal had forfeited his security deposits in October/November 2005 assembly polls.

While the CPI had nominated Shakeel Ahmad Khan, now a member of the RJD, in 1980, 1985 and 1990, the party had fielded Masood Manzar in 1995, 2000 and February 2005. Shakeel Ahmad Khan was the winner of the Gurua assembly seat as an RJD candidate in 2000, and both the elections in 2005. He contested the Sherghati assembly seat in 2010 and lost.

The Congress had claimed the seat last time in 1985 when its candidate Jai Kumar Palit retained the it by defeating Shakeel Ahmad Khan by a margin of 8270 votes. In the previous assembly elections in 1980, Palit had trounced the same opponent by a margin of 3111 votes. In 1991 Jai Kumar Palit was allegedly thrashed by former minister Surendra Yadav, the sitting Belaganj RJD MLA and strongman.

Gaya Town had elected Sushila Sahay of the Janata Party in 1977 when she trounced Yugal Kishore Prasad of the Congress by a margin of 8268 votes.

Gaya Town is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Gaya parliamentary constituency currently represented by Hari Manjhi of the BJP who retained the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Ramji Manjhi by a margin of 115504 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. Jitan Ram Manjhi, who entered the fray on the ticket of the JD (U), was relegated to the third place.

Bodh Gaya, Barachatti, Sherghati, Belaganj, Wazirganj and Guraru are the other six assembly constituencies falling under Gaya Lok Sabha seat reserved for candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

Gaya Town Assembly Election News 2015

Same caste politics

Updated on : Oct-6,2015

Never before in the electoral history of Gaya town, the main contestants belonged to the same caste. It is for the first time that Gaya town too would be witnessing the same caste contest as Prem Kumar, six-time winner and BJP MLA, and his Congress rival Priye Ranjan Dimple belong to the same caste. Both Prem and Dimple are Chandravanshis, the caste having a very strong numerical presence in Gaya town.

Gaya Town Assembly Election Videos 2015