Gaura Bauram Assembly Elections 2015

Gaura Bauram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MADAN SAHNIJanata Dal (United)51403
VINOD SAHNILok Jan Shakti Party37341
BINOD KUMAR MANDALBahujan Samaj Party3050
ASARFI DASCommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)1665
MOHAMMAD RAMIJ ALEE KHANJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1435
TAMANNA KHANGarib Janta Dal (Secular)1051
ANWAR ALI KHANIndependent1048
MD. ABDUL KALAMIndependent659
None of the AboveNone of the Above7000

Gaura Bauram Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
131 (SC) Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Gaura Bauram Assembly Elections Constituency

Gaura Bauram legislative assembly segment belongs to the Darbhanga Lok Sabha segment and is in Darbhanga district of the state. Gaura Bauram assembly constituency comprises Saho, Kothram, Patania, Neuri, Dumri, Bhawanipur, Ramnagar, Rohar Mahmuda, Sahsaram, Parri, Biraul, Itwa Shivnagar and Supaul gram panchayats of Biraul community development block; Kiratpur and Gaura Bauram CD blocks.There are a total of 2,15,526 eligible voters amongst those who can vote are 1,13,932 men and 1,01,593 women.

Electoral History of Gaura Bauram Constituency in Bihar

  Gaura Bauram assembly seat, which came into existence before the last general assembly elections in Bihar in 2010 in place of the erstwhile Ghanshyampur assembly constituency following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is currently held by Izhar Ahmad of the Janata Dal (United) who won the seat by defeating his nearest rival and former Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) minister Mahavir Prasad by a margin of 10602 votes in 2010.

   In that election, Izhar Ahmad, who had won the Ghanshyampur assembly seat in the previous assembly elections held in October/November polls in 2005 by defeating the same opponent, had polled 33258 votes, Mahavir Prasad, a seven term Ghanshyampur MLA, received 22656 votes and was followed by the Congress nominee Nageshwar Pajiyar who secured 14396 votes.

   In the assembly elections in 2010, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP.

   Izhar Ahmad had won the Ghanshyampur assembly seat in 2005 on the ticket of the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP). In that election, LJP and the RJD did not have alliance. As both the parties went to the 2010 polls together, the Gaura Bauram was allotted to the RJD in favour of Mahavir Prasad under the seat sharing arrangement between them, Izhar Ahmad switched his loyalties and joined the JD (U).

   Benipur is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Darbhanga which is currently represented by Kiriti Azad of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

   Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Darbhanga parliamentary seat are Bahdurpur, Benipur, Alinagar, Darbhanga Rural and Darbhanga.

Gaura Bauram Assembly Election News 2015

Shuffling of party nominees

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

JD(U) sitting MLA Izhar Ahmad was denied ticket this time. And in his place, the party has fielded Madan Sahni, a sitting MLA from Bahadurpur. The Bahadurpur seat was conceded to RJD candidate. JD(U) workers staged a protest outside the party office over denial of ticket to their sitting MLA Izhar Ahmad. Izhar defeated RJD's Dr. Mahavir Prasad by a margin of 10,602 votes in the 2010 assembly election. Dr Izhar Ahmad is the sitting MLA of the Gaura Bauram constituency. He won the seat with 33,258 votes and defeated RJD's Dr. Mahavir Prasad by a margin of 10,602 votes in the 2010 assembly elections. Gaura Bauram belongs to the Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency.

Gaura Bauram Assembly Election Videos 2015