Garkha Assembly Elections 2015

Garkha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Result
MUNESHWAR CHAUDHARYRashtriya Janata Dal89249
GYANCHAND MANJHIBharatiya Janata Party49366
SAMPAT RAM RAHIIndependent4723
SHIVJI DASCommunist Party of India2246
RAMJI CHAUDHARYIndependent1311
DILIP KUMAR RAMJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)841
PRAMILA DEVIIndependent707
SURENDRA KUMAR DASBahujan Samaj Party638
LAKSHMI NARAYAN MANJHIGarib Janta Dal (Secular)442
None of the AboveNone of the Above5027

Garkha Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
119 (SC) Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Garkha Assembly Elections Constituency

  Garkha is a legislative assembly is reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes (SCs). Garkha has an electorate of 2,63,616 eligible voters, of whom 1,43,595 are men and 1,20,010 are women.

   The Garkha assembly constituency is in Saran district. It is a part of the Saran Lok Sabha constituency. Garkha consists of Patti Rampur, Badlu Tola, Raipur Bingawa, Lohari, Musepur, Purwi Telpa, Dumari, Sherpur, Bhairopur Nijamat, Bishunupura, Jalalpur, Khalpura Bala, Chirand and Maharajganj gram panchayats of Chapra community development block and Garkha community development block.

Electoral History of Garkha Constituency in Bihar

  Garhwa assembly constituency is currently represented by Satyendra Nath Tiwary of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) JVM (P) who won the seat by defeating the incumbent MLA Girinath Singh of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had been representing the seat since 1995. In that election Satyendra Nath Tiwary polled 50474 votes to defeat Girinath Singh by a margin of 10062 votes. Satyendra Nath Tiwary has recently defected to the BJP.

   Mithilesh Kumar Thakur, who contested on the ticket of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), came third with 14180 votes and was followed by Alakh Nath Pandey of the BJP with 13191 votes. Kali Charan Mahto of the CPI (ML) (L) and Anil Kumar Sah of the AJSU Party finished fifth and sixth by obtaining 6830 and 6665 votes respectively.

   In 2005, Girinath Singh emerged victorious from the Garhwa assembly seat by trouncing Sairaj Ahmed Ansari, the Janata Dal (United) nominee, by a margin of 8533 votes. In 1995 Garhwa assembly constituency, then in the undivided Bihar, had elected Shyam Narayan Dubey of the BJP by a margin of 8470 votes. Shyam Narayan Dubey lost to GIRINATH SINGH in 2000 when the latter defeated him by a margin of 12182 votes.

   Earlier, Gopinath Singh, father of Girinath Singh, had also represented this assembly constituency many times. While Satyendra Nath Tiwary was given ticket by the BJP to contest the 2014 assembly election to Garhwa, which was held on 25th December, the RJD heavyweight Girinath Singh is once again in the fray to wrest the seat for the RJD. The JMM has once again reposed faith in Mithilesh Kumar Thakur. Virendra Sao is the nominee of Babulal Marandi led Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) JVM (P) which had won 11 seats in 2009 general assembly elections to the state.

   Garhwa is one of the six assembly seats that united to form the parliamentary constituency of Palamu which is currently held by Vishnu Dayal Ram of the BJP who won the seat by defeating Manoj Kumar of the RJD by a margin of 263942 votes in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

   Other five assembly segments in the Palamu Lok Sabha are Bhawanathpur, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur and Hussainabad.

Garkha Assembly Election News 2015

Caste factors dominate

Updated on : Oct-5,2015

   Gyanchand Manjhi from BJP is facing a stern test as his rival Muneshwar Chaudhary from RJD banks on the traditional influence his party chief Lalu Prasad Yadav wields in Saran district.

   Howeover, the youth and women in Garkha have started to give importance to the issues of development like health, education and roads.

   Though caste affiliations run deep here, the Modi popularity will swing a sizeable number of votes towards the BJP candidate.

Garkha Assembly Election Videos 2015